Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: rdns with MS DNS  (Read 3945 times)

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
rdns with MS DNS
« on: August 26, 2009, 08:56:03 AM »

OK, so everything else I've seen about rDNS for IPv6 mentions using Bind.  I already have rDNS setup and working in MS DNS, so is there some sort of way to use that instead? 

I'm still not real clear on the whole thing...from what I can tell I need to publish my rDNS records to someone using some method.
Logged

dataless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: rdns with MS DNS
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 11:40:21 AM »

I cannot speak from experience, but everything I have read seems to point to Server 2008 being the ONLY version that supports IPv6 fully.

IPv6 DNS may work on versions other than 2008, I haven't tried.  But I doubt it would work 100%.  I only have a 2003 server setup for testing at the moment.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: rdns with MS DNS
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 12:11:11 PM »

I am running a Server 2008 domain, so if that is indeed a requisite, it shouldn't be a problem
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: rdns with MS DNS
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2009, 10:47:25 AM »

nudge
Logged