Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.  (Read 45064 times)

kutagh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« on: October 02, 2009, 11:29:37 AM »

So I've been trying to get a tunnel working. A normal tunnel.
Let me explain the situation first. I'm on a wireless network, and the IPs are assigned through the DHCP server (the router, which is connected to the modem). The computer that I'm trying to get the tunnel working on, is running Windows 7.

I've been trying to use the following command:
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel <local ip> <server ip>

However, the CMD prompt keeps saying "Element not found". Simply that, nothing else.


Anyone who has encountered the error and managed to solve it?

Thank you in advance.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2009, 11:40:18 AM »

hmm, that command works for me. 

Maybe try repairing IPv6? 

Code: [Select]
netsh int ipv6 reset
I'm assuming you're running the command prompt with admin rights?
Logged

kutagh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2009, 02:26:23 PM »

hmm, that command works for me. 

Maybe try repairing IPv6? 

Code: [Select]
netsh int ipv6 reset
I'm assuming you're running the command prompt with admin rights?


CMD prompt is being ran as admin.
The reset gave the following message:
There's no user specified settings to be reset.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2009, 02:39:36 PM »

Maybe that command doesn't work in vista.  Hmm.  Can you post the output of "ipconfig /all" ?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2009, 04:24:31 PM »

So the first question is, are you behind nat or a firewall, or is your win7 machine actually assigned your IPv4 endpoint?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2009, 06:57:21 AM »

The "element not found" error seems to be a generic one in Windows 7.  I was looking around Google for some help, and I've seen people report that the error has popped up when they were running a "bootrec /fixmbr" and also when someone was trying to adjust the resolution on their monitor via the control panel.

I guess what I'm saying is the error isn't helping us diagnose...hopefully someone else will run across this who's had the problem and be able to help. 

When I get back to work on Monday I'll fire up my VM and see if I can find anything more out for you.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2009, 05:58:56 AM »

From http://www.computerperformance.co.uk/Longhorn/ipv6.htm

Quote
If you get an 'Element not found' error message, then it's because your interface = NAME is wrong.  The solution is to check the NAME in the Network Connections.
Logged

wstreeter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2009, 04:46:16 AM »

A co-worker and I had the same problem. We had to make a change to a registry key and then reboot to get the tunnel to create.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip6\Parameters\DisabledComponents

Normally, the DisabledComponents value does not exist. If the value does not exist or the value data is 0, IPv6 is enabled on all interfaces.

On mine this was set to a non-zero value so I changed it to zero and then rebooted. After that I was able to create the tunnel and IPv6 was functioning great.
Logged

comtrend

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2009, 02:13:27 PM »

Ive made it work on my own vista machine and can see the ipv6 google page etc. When I tried my brothers computer with windows 7 installed I couldnt get it to work. Im thinking whats wrong is that I used the same Example OS Configurations (vista/2008) cmd lines on his computer, since I couldnt find any configurations for windows 7. I didnt get any error msg when typing the lines in cmd though and both mine and his use a local ipv4 address from dhcp.

Is there some windows 7 Example OS Configurations cmd lines out there someone can post or anyone have any suggestions of what Im doing wrong ??
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2009, 02:54:24 PM »

are you getting any error messages?  can you post the output of ipconfig /all and  your routing tables?  the vista commands have worked on 7 for me so far
« Last Edit: November 08, 2009, 06:38:32 AM by cholzhauer »
Logged

comtrend

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2009, 10:25:45 AM »

This is after I wrote those 3 cmd lines.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xx-xx-xx-xx-xx-xx
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9908:f867:c9ac:bc08%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 8. november 2009 12:26:33
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 11. november 2009 12:26:32
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.138
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 261154490
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-79-6A-11-90-E6-BA-B8-58-89

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 193.213.112.4
130.67.15.198
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:d5c7:a2d6:ccb:bdbf:a7a6:728d(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ccb:bdbf:a7a6:728d%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::715f:5983:6bce:9ed3%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 193.213.112.4
130.67.15.198
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2009, 01:52:53 PM »

First, I would disable Teredo.

Second, you never said if you were getting any error messages.

What commands are you trying to run?
Logged

comtrend

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2009, 04:02:28 PM »

netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 10.0.0.1 <server ip>
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel  <string>
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel  <string>

I added those on my brothers computer and didnt get any error msg entering them in cmd. Its when I try to connect to ipv6 google and try to connect to some servers that requires ipv6 that it dosent work. I can try to disable terado next time Im at his computer, anything else I should look at ?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2009, 05:53:38 PM »

Quote
Its when I try to connect to ipv6 google and try to connect to some servers that requires ipv6 that it dosent work

Because you don't have an IPv6 address on your Local Area Connection interface.

To disable Teredo

Code: [Select]
netsh int teredo set state disabled
Logged

comtrend

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't get an IPv6 tunnel to work on windows 7.
« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2009, 11:35:01 AM »

I disabled terado, but still no luck.

Is there a way to remove all the netsh lines Ive entered ? I get duplicate error msg when I try to change ipv4 on this line :

netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 10.0.0.1 <server ip>
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3