Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: How to create new tunnel on website  (Read 5881 times)

heic

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
How to create new tunnel on website
« on: November 17, 2009, 02:22:48 PM »

Hi Guys,

After selecting "Create regular tunnel" and entering my ip address in the field "IPv4 endpoint: (your side of the tunnel)", I get the following error:

"Error: Your IPv4 endpoint is unreachable or unstable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked."

We are behind a very strict firewall which I don't control. Does this mean we cant try HE's tunnelbroker?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2009, 02:43:19 PM »

It means you need to open ICMP to either 66.220.2.74 or 64.62.200.2, you don't have to open it to the world.
Logged

heic

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2009, 02:55:16 PM »

Yes but we don't have access to modify the firewall rules unfortunately.

I wonder if to get around this problem, could I tunnel my OS/X mac at work (Which has some ICMP traffic blocked), to my OS/X mac at home, which already has a working IPv6 tunel?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2009, 02:57:35 PM by heic »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2706
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2009, 02:58:15 PM »

we wont get into the fact that icmp should be enabled anyway.

you can also check into sixxs which lets you do a dynamic tunnel that doesnt require you to punch holes in the firewall
Logged

heic

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2009, 03:00:24 PM »

Yes, I know, our network admins are not that competent. Most of them think that IPv6 is dead because a better alternative solution was invented called "NAT"
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2706
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2009, 03:02:11 PM »

heh good luck with everything
Logged

barish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2009, 02:51:04 AM »

Hi.. I am having the same problem. I am using Windows XP Pro with IPv6 enabled. I have live IP that is 210.56.16.35 and I even tried my other live IPs like 210.56.16.10 (mail server) and 210.56.16.1 (gateway router) but every time I got the same result. Any user around the world can ping or telnet my computers.

Now what I am doing wrong?

-Kamran Mahmood (barish70@gmail.com)

Hi Guys,

After selecting "Create regular tunnel" and entering my ip address in the field "IPv4 endpoint: (your side of the tunnel)", I get the following error:

"Error: Your IPv4 endpoint is unreachable or unstable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked."

We are behind a very strict firewall which I don't control. Does this mean we cant try HE's tunnelbroker?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2706
Re: How to create new tunnel on website
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2009, 05:00:21 AM »

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\cholzhauer>ping 210.56.16.35

Pinging 210.56.16.35 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 203.215.176.18: Destination net unreachable.

Ping statistics for 210.56.16.35:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

Your firewall is blocking ICMP traffic.  What are you using for a firewall?
Logged