Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IPv6 ping not working  (Read 6214 times)

PhoenixCZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
IPv6 ping not working
« on: June 01, 2010, 04:25:42 AM »

Hi, I have an issue with ping to the other side of tunnel. I use generated code from main page with my IPv6. No FW active on server, located in DMZ, even port 41 forwarding is enabled

My config:

sit0      Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: ::127.0.0.1/96 Scope:Unknown
          inet6 addr: ::192.168.0.2/96 Scope:Compat
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

sit1      Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: <my IPv6>::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c0a8:2/64 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1132 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:137584 (134.3 KiB)


# ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(2a00:1450:8004::68) 56 data bytes

--- ipv6.google.com ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 5998ms

# traceroute6 ipv6.google.com
traceroute to ipv6.google.com (2a00:1450:8004::67), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
 1  * * *
 2  * * *
etc ...

computer is located in demilitarized zone (DMZ), I have public IPv4 ...

can you please help?
I dont know why but I am unable to ping any IPv6 address (except my own).

$ ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(2a00:1450:8004::63) 56 data bytes

# /usr/sbin/tcpdump -n -i eth0 proto 41
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 96 bytes
10:55:41.083830 IP 192.168.0.2 > 216.66.80.30: IP6 2001:470:1f0a:13dc::2 > 2a00:1450:8004::63: ICMP6, echo request, seq 567, length 64
10:55:42.083664 IP 192.168.0.2 > 216.66.80.30: IP6 2001:470:1f0a:13dc::2 > 2a00:1450:8004::63: ICMP6, echo request, seq 568, length 64
10:55:43.083534 IP 192.168.0.2 > 216.66.80.30: IP6 2001:470:1f0a:13dc::2 > 2a00:1450:8004::63: ICMP6, echo request, seq 569, length 64

« Last Edit: June 02, 2010, 01:56:22 AM by PhoenixCZ »
Logged

PhoenixCZ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: IPv6 ping not working
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2010, 03:48:44 PM »

OK so I bring some light in this case, D-Link 624+ not supports proto41 ...
So I was forced to make from my old testing linux laptop some advanced router ;)
Logged

armanjackson

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IPv6 ping not working
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2010, 05:48:25 AM »

same type of error occur with my system when i start ping to check IPv6. So, i start to work on my older system. If you got any solution of this type of error please inform me also.
Logged