• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

rdns with afraid.org

Started by sixten, May 16, 2008, 05:49:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sixten

Hello

Im new to this, just started to experiment with it.
I've installed ipv6 in winxp and i can browse pages, if i visit http://www.whatismyipv6.net/ it says my ip is: 2001:470:1f14:af::2

Im trying to setup a reverse dns with afraid, and first it asks me for my ipv6 subnet, i assume this is my routed /64 or /48?
Wich btw are:
2001:470:d04d::/48
2001:470:1f15:af::/64

So ive entered them both. Now, next question afraid has is what is my ipv6 ip, and it starts by entering "2001:0470:1f15:00af:" and im supposed to fill out the rest, but to me it makes no sense, http://www.whatismyipv6.net/ said my ip was 2001:470:1f14:af::2 so what am i supposed to write?

karlbrose

Sounds like you're not using your subnets, your box is just using the transit tunnel endpoint IP.
You can't get DNS delegation for that, and if you're not using the subnet, then there isn't much sense in setting up reverse DNS.
I would also recommend learning about DNS first, cf. DNS & BIND (O'Reilly), then those questions will be clearer.

snarked

Quote... Wich btw are:
2001:470:d04d::/48
2001:470:1f15:af::/64

So ive entered them both. Now, next question afraid has is what is my ipv6 ip, and it starts by entering "2001:0470:1f15:00af:" and im supposed to fill out the rest, but to me it makes no sense, ...
First off, you have to enter them as reverse zones:

d.4.0.d.0.7.4.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa
f.a.0.0.5.1.f.1.0.7.4.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa

As far as the remaining 64 bits (for /64) or 80 bits (for /48) go, you have to pick them.

I've never used IPv6 delegation to freedns, so you're on your own for that.

Quote... http://www.whatismyipv6.net/ said my ip was 2001:470:1f14:af::2 so what am i supposed to write?
That's because your system used that address when you visited that site.

avongauss