Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit unable to ping past router  (Read 5707 times)

grobe0ba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • EMFN Grobe, Byron A., United States Navy
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit unable to ping past router
« on: July 04, 2010, 10:49:21 PM »

I have a Debian Sid router with the tunnel set up, and functional. I am able to ping6 and access IPv6 enabled services from the router. radvd is set up and functional, the Win 7 computer is obtaining an IP address (both v4 and v6). I'm fairly sure the problem is somewhere in the routing tables.
IP forwarding IS enabled.


grobe0ba@tethyes:/etc/network$ sudo ip -6 route
2001:470:1f06:96f::1 dev he-ipv6  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
2001:470:1f06:96f::/64 via :: dev he-ipv6  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
2001:470:1f07:978::/64 dev eth1  metric 1  mtu 1450 advmss 1390 hoplimit 0
2001:470:1f07:978::/64 dev eth1  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 dev eth1  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 via :: dev he-ipv6  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
default via 2001:470:1f06:96f::1 dev he-ipv6  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
default dev he-ipv6  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0

eth1 is my internal network interface, he-ipv6 the 6in4 tunnel interface

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:3f:f6:94:ea
          inet addr:192.168.2.1  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f07:978::1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:3fff:fef6:94ea/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5227761 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:9999854 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:527412659 (502.9 MiB)  TX bytes:1090676143 (1.0 GiB)
          Interrupt:24 Base address:0xe000

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f06:96f::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c0a8:112/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:10322 (10.0 KiB)  TX bytes:1971 (1.9 KiB)


radvd.conf

interface eth1 {
        AdvLinkMTU 1450;
        AdvSendAdvert on;

        prefix 2001:470:1f07:978::/64 {
                AdvOnLink on;
                AdvAutonomous on;
        };
        route 2001:470:1f06:978::1/64 {
                AdvRouteLifetime infinity;
                AdvRoutePreference high;
        };
        RDNSS 2001:470:20::2 {
                AdvRDNSSOpen on;
                AdvRDNSSLifetime infinity;
        };
};
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit unable to ping past router
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2010, 11:04:54 PM »

Looks like u have a bunch of duplicate route type stuff in your table.  Here's mine (sanitized) for comparison:

2001:db8:1234:567::/64 via :: dev he6  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1280 advmss 1220 hoplimit 0
2001:db8:4321::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 dev eth1  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 via :: dev he6  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1280 advmss 1220 hoplimit 0
default via 2001:db8:1234:567::1 dev he6  metric 1000  mtu 1280 advmss 1220 hoplimit 0


Also, double check to make sure you're using the proper IPv6 addresses (routed /64 or /64 out of routed /48).  The IPv6s you're using don't fit the "normal schema" of what I've seen from HE.  Normally they change the 3rd quad and leave the 4th the same for routed /64, although if you have a /48 it's a completely different chunk.
Logged

grobe0ba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • EMFN Grobe, Byron A., United States Navy
Re: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit unable to ping past router
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2010, 07:18:20 AM »

Looking closely, I see that I did in fact thumbfinger some of the addresses, most likely by copying and pasting one that I had typed incorrectly.
I cleaned the routing table up by removing all the entries from it, and letting it rebuild itself, and here's what i got.

2001:470:1f06:96f::1 dev he-ipv6  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
2001:470:1f06:96f::/64 via :: dev he-ipv6  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 dev eth1  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 dev eth0  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 0
fe80::/64 via :: dev he-ipv6  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0
default via 2001:470:1f06:96f::1 dev he-ipv6  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 0


I'm still able to ping out from the router, but anything behind the router is getting a Request Time Out, and now, I can't even ping the router.

New output from ifconfig

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:3f:f6:94:ea
          inet addr:192.168.2.1  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f07:96f::1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:3fff:fef6:94ea/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:3965 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4193 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:502668 (490.8 KiB)  TX bytes:2225372 (2.1 MiB)
          Interrupt:24 Base address:0x2000

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f06:96f::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c0a8:112/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:424 (424.0 B)


radvd.conf

interface eth1 {
        AdvLinkMTU 1450;
        AdvSendAdvert on;

        prefix 2001:470:1f07:96f::/64 {
                AdvOnLink on;
                AdvAutonomous on;
        };
        route 2001:470:1f07:96f::1/64 {
                AdvRouteLifetime infinity;
                AdvRoutePreference high;
        };
        RDNSS 2001:470:20::2 {
                AdvRDNSSOpen on;
                AdvRDNSSLifetime infinity;
        };
};



And, halt! I solved the entire thing by adding a routing entry by hand that /etc/init.d/networking was refusing to add from an up command in /etc/network/interfaces. Thank you for pointing out my thumb-fingering in the addresses, jimb.
Logged