Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network  (Read 7420 times)

7nightwing7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« on: July 30, 2010, 12:05:07 AM »

Ok, im so lost. Pretty new to this but i had the tunnel up and running in the beginning. Until, i accidently deleted the tunnel in the cmd. Now i cant get it back up. Whenever i execute the netsh commands it gives me a duplicate name error. Made a screenshot of my route and interface.





Any help would be greatly appreciated  :(
Logged

Night

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 12:21:50 AM »

open cmd as admin and type following

netsh interface ipv6 delete interface IP6Tunnel3
netsh reset

reboot and add again :)
Logged

7nightwing7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 12:38:34 AM »

open cmd as admin and type following

netsh interface ipv6 delete interface IP6Tunnel3
netsh reset

reboot and add again :)

Thanks for your reply, i deleted the tunnel, and used the reset command. No errors during readding the commands, however i still cant connect to ipv6 sites. Keeps saying im still using the IPv4. Made a screenshot:



« Last Edit: July 30, 2010, 12:40:51 AM by 7nightwing7 »
Logged

Night

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 12:41:27 AM »

Try
ipv6.google.com


have your endpoint IP changed  from the one listed on tunnelbroker.com?

Logged

7nightwing7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2010, 12:53:47 AM »

Try
ipv6.google.com


have your endpoint IP changed  from the one listed on tunnelbroker.com?



Cant reach ipv6.google.com. My endpoint IP is still the same, with the one i entered on tunnbelbroker.com Im so confused. This used to work flawlessly.  ???
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2659
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2010, 09:29:37 AM »

Have you assigned an ipv6 address to your local area interface?
Logged

7nightwing7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2010, 05:10:48 AM »

Have you assigned an ipv6 address to your local area interface?

What do u mean ? I just followed the netsh commands that are needed to activate my tunnel. I replaces my public ip with my private ip. Did i forgot something ?

Thanks for your help  :)
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2659
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2010, 09:46:35 AM »

I don't know what commands HE gives you on that page, as I don't use windows for my endpoint, but with windows, your LAN connection needs to have an ipv6 address if you want to access the ipv6 Internet; having that ::2 address on your tunnel interface is not enough.  So, take an address out of your routed /64, put it on your LAN connection (same way you would a ipv4 static address) and you should be ok
Logged

7nightwing7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2010, 10:59:22 AM »

I don't know what commands HE gives you on that page, as I don't use windows for my endpoint, but with windows, your LAN connection needs to have an ipv6 address if you want to access the ipv6 Internet; having that ::2 address on your tunnel interface is not enough.  So, take an address out of your routed /64, put it on your LAN connection (same way you would a ipv4 static address) and you should be ok

These are the commands i used:

netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 84.25.211.35 216.66.84.46
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:a00::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:a00::1

Since im behind a router, i changed the ip in the first line, with my private ip that my router gives me. Still, i cant connect, nor ping Ipv6 websites.

Thank you for your help.
Logged

7nightwing7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Windows 7 x64 duplicate name exists on the network
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2010, 11:36:59 PM »

Solved !

It turns out that the solution was very simple. Since i copied the netsh commands to my computer i kept using them. However i deleted my tunnel, and then created a new one. Seems that the last rule of the netsh command changed one simple figure. I did not notice that at all for the past 4 days, because i kept using the settings of my old tunnel. How stupid is that ?  :D After i deleted the ipv6 tunnel and did a reset, i started over and used the new tunnel commands. Presto ! Up and running.


Thanks to everyone who tried to help me.  :)
Logged