• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

Opnsense configuration and performance questions

Started by jmrickerby, July 05, 2023, 02:32:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmrickerby

Hi there,

Apologies, but I'm new to IPv6, so please be patient with me.

I'm a personal internet user, ISP is IPv4 only obviously, configuring an existing Opnsense 23.1.11 firewall with Tunnel Broker. I used the following links for instructions for this process:
https://docs.opnsense.org/manual/how-tos/ipv6_tunnelbroker.html
https://medium.com/swlh/ipv6-on-opnsense-router-599a9198aaed

With 3 internal networks, I have a Tunnel Broker Routed /48 prefix, which I have allocated into 4 subnets. There is an Internet accessible server on one of the LANs.

Testing wise, https://test-ipv6.com seems happy with me 10/10, but https://ipv6-test.com/ gives inconsistent results.

Question 1 – ICMPv6 access to LAN(s)?
If I am understanding correctly, ICMPv6 is important to a properly functioning IPv6 network. In Opnsense, the "Firewall - Rules - TunnelBroker [interface]" has default rules for passing inbound ICMPv6 packets to internal interfaces. However, as these rules do not include an Echo type, I am unsure how to test that ICMPv6 is working. Is it advisable/necessary to have a "Firewall - NAT - Port Forward" rule to allow TunnelBroker inbound ICMPv6 to the internal interfaces, or will that just create an unnecessary security hole?

Question 2 – DHCPv6 and IPv6 addresses?