Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Help with setting up my tunnel  (Read 4424 times)

wrecksan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Help with setting up my tunnel
« on: January 17, 2011, 05:24:11 AM »

Hey ive been getting the error message:

Error: Your IPv4 endpoint is unreachable or unstable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked. If you are blocking ICMP, please allow 66.220.2.74 through your firewall.

I've disabled my firewall, windows firewall and the router firewall and still no luck.

Is there any chance someone could help me? Thanks
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 05:47:07 AM »

What's your IP address?

That error message means that HE is unable to ping your public IPv4 address
Logged

wrecksan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 06:27:51 AM »

My IP Address is 92.17.38.21

Its dynamic IP but that shouldnt matter for setting it up should it?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 06:31:05 AM »

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\cholzhauer>ping 92.17.38.21

Pinging 92.17.38.21 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 92.17.38.21:
    Packets: Sent = 2, Received = 0, Lost = 2 (100% loss),
Control-C

Yes, your IP is dynamic, but it probably doesn't change that often.
Logged

wrecksan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2011, 06:37:13 AM »

Is there anything I'm overlooking with this?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2011, 06:40:52 AM »

Has to be ;)

If you connect your computer directly to the cable modem/DSL router, does it work?

If it does, there's a setting you missed.

If it doesn't, you've either forgot to disable the firewall on the OS or your ISP is blocking ICMP
Logged

vivow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2011, 06:51:11 AM »

Maybe this is just a coincidence or Im having a wrong angle at this, but I googled a bit and, according to this guy,
your ISP carphone warehouse blocks ping requests to their networks.

Quote
Top 10 ISP in UK (by Subscriber)
 
No ping
www.bt.com
www.carphonewarehouse.com
...

https://learningnetwork.cisco.com/message/16327
Logged

wrecksan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2011, 07:13:59 AM »

Is there a way to get round that? I haven't got the facilities to change the wire/wireless as this is on a desktop and havent got any cables long enough :(

I'm not trying to be awkward though sorry
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2011, 07:23:17 AM »

He's saying that your SOL...ICMP is being blocked before it even gets to you
Logged

wrecksan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2011, 07:28:16 AM »

Oh right, I was referring to that but yeah if its getting blocked before it reaches me I havent got a chance :p Ok thanks very much for your help both of yous :)
Logged

vivow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Help with setting up my tunnel
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2011, 09:51:44 AM »

The only thing that comes to my mind is looking for a vpn service (there are a few free ones), it might work with one of them, but that depends on a few things.
It most likely only would be useful for doing the certification at most, if theyre not blocking http/smtp etc services.
Either use a completely free one like Hotspotshields (tho the Tunnel didnt work for me), or get a free testing account for a UK based one.

Its always worth a try.
Logged