Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router  (Read 12027 times)

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2011, 11:09:27 AM »

The funny thing is that from outside it is the opposite:

outside -> router (::1)  -> OK
outside -> server (::2)  -> NOT OK
outside -> laptop (::3)  -> NOT OK

This is very strange, but probably a small detail apparently ...
Logged

antillie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2011, 11:09:33 AM »

What is the running config of the router? You don't have any IPv6 ACLs on it do you?
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2011, 11:15:53 AM »

Please check the first page, complete config of my 1801W is there.

I suspect the problem is coming from the router but where ... ?

Thx :)
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2011, 11:32:11 AM »

hopefully my google-fu is working;

from http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/cisco/nsp/52397


I think you need "ipv6 enable" on your FastEthernet0 interface.  Is this where you are plugging in the server???


also, what is your IOS version?  I remember reading that IPv6 over BVI interfaces was iffy/non-functional.  But in your case the BVI seems to be working....so I suspect that is not the issue.
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #19 on: January 28, 2011, 11:45:45 AM »

Well I already tested to "ipv6 enable" on Fa0 and also on BVI1, but nothing worked.

My Router is on version: Version 12.4(15)T4

My server is connected to Cisco 2900 switch, and my switch is then connected to the Router
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2011, 01:14:54 PM »

I kept 'ipv6 enable' activated on Fa0 + BVI1.
I cannot use that command for my Dot11Radio0 ... strange.

It doesn't look as an acl or something ... this is just weird ... :(
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2011, 01:21:35 PM »

what port is your 2900 switch connecting to?  Fe0?

run a tcpdump/wireshark and see if you are getting RAs from the 1801.
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2011, 01:32:01 PM »

Server is connected on Fa0/1
Layer 2 switch, then no power on any Fa0/* interfaces.

I'll run wireshark and check what's going wrong ...
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2011, 01:48:26 PM »

# tcpdump -t -n -i eth0 -s 512 -vv ip6 or proto ipv6

ping from laptop (::3) to router (::1) :

Code: [Select]
IP6 (hlim 255, next-header ICMPv6 (58) payload length: 32) 2001:470:1f15:131a::3 > ff02::1:ff00:1: [icmp6 sum ok] ICMP6, neighbor solicitation, length 32, who has 2001:470:1f15:131a::1
  source link-address option (1), length 8 (1): 00:23:14:c1:14:40
    0x0000:  0023 14c1 1440
IP6 (hlim 255, next-header ICMPv6 (58) payload length: 32) 2001:470:1f15:131a::3 > ff02::1:ff00:1: [icmp6 sum ok] ICMP6, neighbor solicitation, length 32, who has 2001:470:1f15:131a::1
  source link-address option (1), length 8 (1): 00:23:14:c1:14:40
    0x0000:  0023 14c1 1440
IP6 (hlim 255, next-header ICMPv6 (58) payload length: 32) 2001:470:1f15:131a::3 > ff02::1:ff00:1: [icmp6 sum ok] ICMP6, neighbor solicitation, length 32, who has 2001:470:1f15:131a::1
  source link-address option (1), length 8 (1): 00:23:14:c1:14:40
    0x0000:  0023 14c1 1440
IP6 (hlim 255, next-header ICMPv6 (58) payload length: 32) 2001:470:1f15:131a::3 > ff02::1:ff00:1: [icmp6 sum ok] ICMP6, neighbor solicitation, length 32, who has 2001:470:1f15:131a::1
  source link-address option (1), length 8 (1): 00:23:14:c1:14:40
    0x0000:  0023 14c1 1440

It seems that nobody is answering that, from inside.
From outside, the ping works on 2001:470:1f15:131a::1 ... which means that from outside it answer ...

Rahhh so weird :(:(:(
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2011, 01:58:57 PM »

I enabled debug:

# debug ipv6 packet detail
# terminal monitor

on my Cisco router ...

I issued the same ping again (from laptop/server -> router) ... no debug written ...

Logged

pbrutsch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2011, 03:43:16 PM »

bardack,

The version of IOS you are running does not support IPv6 on BVI interfaces.

You will need to run IOS 15.1T, not IOS 12.4(15)T.

Upgrading IOS may also require a DRAM upgrade.
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #26 on: January 28, 2011, 05:26:21 PM »

yeah I thought I had read that somewhere....

welcome to the new world of cisco licensing of IOS15  ::)

according to this tho, you could try and move your IP processing from the BVI to the Fe interface;

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/cisco/nsp/52397

leaving your IPv4 stuff on the BVI and IPv6 on an interface that is in the bridge group...worth a try, I have no BVI routers to test on.

Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #27 on: January 28, 2011, 11:35:08 PM »

Arghhhhh :(:(:(

At least, many thanks for the final answer.
I cannot move ipv6 to Fa interface because the only layer3 Fa I have on my router is Fa0 ...

Well ... What other solution do I have? ... :(

Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #28 on: January 29, 2011, 12:15:17 AM »

I tested with my Cisco router 837 (no wifi but I use a LinkSys as AP) and it works perfectly :)

from laptop/server, I am able to ping the other client and the router :):):)
It finally works locally.

From outside, I am able to ping the inside address of the router (1F15 ::1) but not the addresses of the clients ...
Almost done :)

Thx for your help anyway
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 with Cisco 1801W Router
« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2011, 12:21:49 AM »

laptop->outside : works
server -> outside: works

outside -> laptop : not working
outside -> server: works

:):):)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3