Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: DNS cache problem?  (Read 4080 times)

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
DNS cache problem?
« on: February 01, 2011, 08:59:59 AM »

Hi,

I am trying to take the ipv6.he.net certification.
To become administrator level, I should configure an ipv6 mail server, he.net will send me a code on an ipv6 mail address and I can go to the next level.

My mailserver is working correctly (tested with friends over ipv6), for 2 days now.

When I try to send the code, he.net says:
"No MX found for your domain. Failed to get AAAA"

I checked on my server:
Code: [Select]
root@dinco:/home/bardack# dig -t mx bardack.be AAAA

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> -t mx bardack.be AAAA
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3583
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 3

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;bardack.be. IN MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
bardack.be. 55458 IN MX 1 ipv6.dinco.bardack.be.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
bardack.be. 55354 IN NS ns.ovh.net.
bardack.be. 55354 IN NS dns.ovh.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ipv6.dinco.bardack.be. 55354 IN AAAA 2001:470:1f15:131a::2
ns.ovh.net. 63810 IN A 213.251.128.136
dns.ovh.net. 26826 IN A 213.186.33.102

;; Query time: 22 msec
;; SERVER: 193.109.184.75#53(193.109.184.75)
;; WHEN: Tue Feb  1 17:55:56 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 157

;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 2669
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;AAAA. IN MX

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
. 10789 IN SOA a.root-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 2011020100 1800 900 604800 86400

;; Query time: 20 msec
;; SERVER: 193.109.184.75#53(193.109.184.75)
;; WHEN: Tue Feb  1 17:55:56 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 97

Is it only a DNS cache problem? It seems to ... but already 2 days that everything is configured.

Somebody can help me on that problem or at least let me know what is the update timing for DNS on tunnelbroker.net?


Thx for your help
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: DNS cache problem?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2011, 09:42:22 AM »

Everything looks OK to me too

Code: [Select]

[carl@mars ~]$ dig mx bardack.be

; <<>> DiG 9.6.2-P2 <<>> mx bardack.be
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26307
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;bardack.be.                    IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
bardack.be.             86400   IN      MX      1 ipv6.dinco.bardack.be.

;; Query time: 225 msec
;; SERVER: 2001:470:c27d:e000:41bd:d9bf:9b66:9b95#53(2001:470:c27d:e000:41bd:d9bf:9b66:9b95)
;; WHEN: Tue Feb  1 12:43:01 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 55

[carl@mars ~]$ dig aaaa ipv6.dinco.bardack.be

; <<>> DiG 9.6.2-P2 <<>> aaaa ipv6.dinco.bardack.be
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 20199
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.dinco.bardack.be.         IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ipv6.dinco.bardack.be.  86400   IN      AAAA    2001:470:1f15:131a::2

;; Query time: 259 msec
;; SERVER: 2001:470:c27d:e000:41bd:d9bf:9b66:9b95#53(2001:470:c27d:e000:41bd:d9bf:9b66:9b95)
;; WHEN: Tue Feb  1 12:43:15 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 67


I would email ipv6@he.net and tell them...there's times they just need to clear the cache
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: DNS cache problem?
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2011, 10:08:57 AM »

flushed cache, looks good now
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: DNS cache problem?
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2011, 10:13:20 AM »

Youhou, I confirm.

Many thx for the fast feedback.
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: DNS cache problem?
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 12:27:34 AM »

Hi,

I got the same problem for GURU level.

NS servers for bardack.be domain is Hurricane Electric and I have AAAA specified.
Code: [Select]
bardack@dinco:~$ dig bardack.be ns

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> bardack.be ns
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 50094
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 5, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 9

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;bardack.be. IN NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
bardack.be. 294 IN NS ns4.he.net.
bardack.be. 294 IN NS ns5.he.net.
bardack.be. 294 IN NS ns1.he.net.
bardack.be. 294 IN NS ns2.he.net.
bardack.be. 294 IN NS ns3.he.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.he.net. 38798 IN A 216.218.130.2
ns2.he.net. 33426 IN A 216.218.131.2
ns2.he.net. 40761 IN AAAA 2001:470:200::2
ns3.he.net. 27396 IN A 216.218.132.2
ns3.he.net. 44248 IN AAAA 2001:470:300::2
ns4.he.net. 50427 IN A 216.66.1.2
ns4.he.net. 44248 IN AAAA 2001:470:400::2
ns5.he.net. 46629 IN A 216.66.80.18
ns5.he.net. 44248 IN AAAA 2001:470:500::2

;; Query time: 23 msec
;; SERVER: 193.109.184.75#53(193.109.184.75)
;; WHEN: Wed Feb  2 09:22:02 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 316



But when I clicked the "test" button for GURU level, I still got: Couldn't get AAAA for NS

Is there a possibility to flush again?

Thanks in advance for your understanding.

Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: DNS cache problem?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2011, 08:05:02 AM »

Did you email them? ;)
Logged

bardack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: DNS cache problem?
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2011, 11:46:29 PM »

Well no since an administrator flushed the cache from this post some days ago.
I'll mail them :)

THx
Logged