Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: radvd error  (Read 4880 times)

woosingwoo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
radvd error
« on: February 14, 2011, 01:24:23 PM »

Hi,

try to start the radvd service with the following error:
"radvd: no linklocal address configured for ppp0"

Any ideas on how to fix the issues?

Thanks,
Woo
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: radvd error
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 01:44:59 PM »

Why are you trying to run RADVD on PPP0?
Logged

woosingwoo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: radvd error
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 03:12:18 PM »

try to test a CPE (home router) with ipv6 pppoe.
Logged

antillie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: radvd error
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2011, 03:18:57 PM »

Radvd is used to advertise yourself as an IPv6 router on the local LAN. As such you should only need to run radvd on your LAN facing interface and not your WAN interface.
Logged

woosingwoo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: radvd error
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2011, 04:45:38 PM »

ppp0 is part of my LAN interface.
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: radvd error
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2011, 04:48:07 PM »

Yes, if you're using PPPoE it's going through the LAN interface, but you don't want RADVD to announce your LAN /64 through the ppp interface, but through the ethernet interface (eth0), where you should assign an address out of your LAN /64.
Logged

woosingwoo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: radvd error
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2011, 10:10:19 AM »

Thanks all, after putting the localhost address in the server option it is working fine now.

Thanks,
Woo
Logged