Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: How to surf from Windows 7?  (Read 5949 times)

ratcheer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
How to surf from Windows 7?
« on: March 01, 2011, 02:41:17 PM »

My Ubuntu client host is working very well. My tunnel endpoint is my Netgear router and radvd is running on the router. Ubuntu picked up on everything, automagically.

However, my Win 7 host cannot establish DNS to IPv6. It has acquired a valid IPv6 address via radvd and it can successfully "ping -6" to IPv6 web site names. But, using either MSIE or Chrome web browsers, it cannot surf to those sites.

I found using netsh commands that it had no DNS assigned for IPv6. I tried and tried to get it to pick up the one from my router, as Linux is apparently doing. But nothing would work.

So, I finally assigned a static dns of 2001:470:20::2, as given on my Tunnel Details page. It took that, but I still cannot surf.

What else do I need to try?

Thanks,
Tim
« Last Edit: March 01, 2011, 02:43:14 PM by ratcheer »
Logged

ratcheer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: How to surf from Windows 7?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 03:30:53 PM »

Never mind. Stupid Windows. Even though it was picking up and showing the changes to the network, I still had to reboot for them to become effective.  ::)

Tim
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: How to surf from Windows 7?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 03:46:40 PM »

interesting.  i was under the impression that windows couldnt get dns info from radvd
Logged

ratcheer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
Re: How to surf from Windows 7?
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2011, 03:58:07 PM »

interesting.  i was under the impression that windows couldnt get dns info from radvd

Well, actually my last reply pertained to where I had statically set it to 2001:470:20::2, but out of curiosity I set it back to Automatic, rebooted again, and it still works. So, it is either getting it from radvd or some other way through the router.

Tim
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: How to surf from Windows 7?
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2011, 04:40:45 PM »

try removing it via the command line, rebooting, and then see what happens.
Logged

Mierdin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: How to surf from Windows 7?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 01:18:13 PM »

radvd is able to distribute a recursive DNS list specified in RFC6106 - I was surprised as well when I learned it since everyone seemed to say you had to use the O flag in RA's to point to a DHCPv6 server which I don't have. (yet)

Here's an example:
http://www.jukie.net/bart/blog/20100915175649
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: How to surf from Windows 7?
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2011, 01:21:55 PM »

Yeah, I know RADVD can transmit, but as I say, I was under the impression that Windows did not accept the DNS information.
Logged