Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: ipv6 tunnel with shorewall running  (Read 7954 times)

xzibiz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
ipv6 tunnel with shorewall running
« on: August 02, 2008, 07:30:24 AM »

I'm trying to get your ipv6 tunnel to work under an shorewall firewall. I have used ipv6 on the same server before, but not with shorewall.

Is there anyone that knows how to get the tunnel to work ?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: ipv6 tunnel with shorewall running
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 08:24:46 AM »

Look in the tunnels file (/etc/shorewall/tunnels on one of my systems). If it doesn't explicitly mention 6in4 tunnels (what we use), then try the generic entry. Something along the lines of:

Code: [Select]
generic:41        net     ipv4.of.tunnel.server
Obviously you change out "ipv4.of.tunnel.server" with the IPv4 endpoint of our tunnel-server you are using.

Hope this helps!
Logged

xzibiz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ipv6 tunnel with shorewall running
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 03:10:41 AM »

now it works., but i'm getting disconnected all the time. 5 min online at the most.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: ipv6 tunnel with shorewall running
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2008, 07:45:08 AM »

try setting up a sort of keepalive using an ipv6 ntp server.
Logged

xzibiz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ipv6 tunnel with shorewall running
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 08:24:48 AM »

Logged