Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Trying to update dynnamic tunnel endpoint with ipv4_end.php is broken  (Read 3303 times)

marcusw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20

Hi, I'm trying to update my tunnel endpoint address according to the instructions here: https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_end.php

I have a script to do this every so often, and it worked fine up until...oh, about 2 days ago. It looks like a few parameter names were changed (why?), but now that I've updated my script, I still can't get it to work. All I get is this page when I send a GET for the url:

-ERROR: Another tunnel exists for this IP. Verify usage here [link to https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_verify.php?tid=91661, which is the wrong page, btw]

I haven't changed any settings or made a new tunnel. My IPv4 hasn't changed. Someone else might have made a tunnel with my address, but I think that's unlikely.

I'm not sure if this is a bug or me being stupid, but would appreciate it if someone could let me know what's up.
Logged

jgeorge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Trying to update dynnamic tunnel endpoint with ipv4_end.php is broken
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 02:30:37 PM »

I don't know if it helps for sure but there's some discussion of changes to the tunnel update scripts here: http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=1616.0

Cheers,

Joe
Logged

kcochran

  • Sr. Network Engineer, Hurricane Electric
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 415
Re: Trying to update dynnamic tunnel endpoint with ipv4_end.php is broken
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 03:13:07 PM »

I have a script to do this every so often, and it worked fine up until...oh, about 2 days ago. It looks like a few parameter names were changed (why?), but now that I've updated my script, I still can't get it to work. All I get is this page when I send a GET for the url:

-ERROR: Another tunnel exists for this IP. Verify usage here [link to https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_verify.php?tid=91661, which is the wrong page, btw]

The previously documented parameter names will continue to work for the future.  The documented names for them changed to be more in line with industry convention and the actual role of the parameter.  For example, circuits and point-to-point links are typically A-side and Z-side, not B-side.  That's for music singles.  ;-)  And in the case of trying to change to an IP which is already associated with an existing tunnel, ipv4_verify is the proper page.

I haven't changed any settings or made a new tunnel. My IPv4 hasn't changed. Someone else might have made a tunnel with my address, but I think that's unlikely.

That's the IP validity check.  I've added an additional check before the IP validity check to throw back a different error notice in case of the updated IP is the same as the existing endpoint.
Logged

marcusw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Trying to update dynnamic tunnel endpoint with ipv4_end.php is broken
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 03:01:12 PM »

I haven't changed any settings or made a new tunnel. My IPv4 hasn't changed. Someone else might have made a tunnel with my address, but I think that's unlikely.

That's the IP validity check.  I've added an additional check before the IP validity check to throw back a different error notice in case of the updated IP is the same as the existing endpoint.

Thank you. I will work on the script to have it only update when the address changes.
Logged