Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: super noob here pleasehelp..  (Read 13352 times)

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
super noob here pleasehelp..
« on: August 11, 2008, 09:48:56 PM »

my set up is i winxp.. and my router is a linksyswrt54g.. running  ddwrt v23..

i pasted this into the radvd config box..
Code: [Select]
interface br0 {
   MinRtrAdvInterval 3;
   MaxRtrAdvInterval 10;
   AdvLinkMTU 1280;
   AdvSendAdvert on;
   prefix 2001:470:1f07:74d::/64 {
    AdvOnLink on;
    AdvAutonomous on;
    AdvValidLifetime 86400;
    AdvPreferredLifetime 86400;
    Base6to4Interface vlan1;
   };
};

this is pasted into my adminster>command  box. i got from this website..
Code: [Select]
modprobe ipv6
ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 209.51.161.14 local MY.IP.PROVIDED.BY.MY.ISP ttl 255
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add 2001:470:1f06:74d::2/64 dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip -f inet6 addr

i reboot the routers..
and on my winxp the following code in the cmd promt..
Code: [Select]
ipv6 install
when i try to browse a ivp6 site i cant connect. what i'm doing wrong please help me
i include a picute of my hurricant info..
[img=http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/5273/infotl8.th.gif]


one more question on the bottom of the of the tunnel detail page on hurricane electric.. it have this sentence
*** *NOTE* When behind a firewall appliance that passes protocol41, instead of using the IPv4 endpoint you provided to our broker, use the IPv4 address you get from your appliance's DHCP service. ***

i does it mean to use the ip add provided by my isp..the ip provided by my ip is blank out in the picture..  or use the local ip which is 192.168.2 for this xp..  or does it mean i have to fwd port 41 to my xp machine which is 192.168.1.2
« Last Edit: August 11, 2008, 09:53:05 PM by guardianx »
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1680
    • View Profile
    • Another IPv6 Blog...
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 09:56:23 PM »

first thing off the top of my head is when you add the ip to br0, add it from 1f07 not 1f06 (okay you edited that line out ;) )

second thing is winxp isnt what you are terminating the tunnel on, so ignore the whole deal about using the private ip address
« Last Edit: August 11, 2008, 10:11:24 PM by broquea »
Logged

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 10:11:17 PM »

did i do everything right? if so how come i cant browse ipv6 site... this is the config output on my winxp
using winxp pro service pack. I tried the whole day try to get this to work my head hurts :(
Code: [Select]
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\user>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::213:d4ff:fe4f:f96d%4
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
                                            fe80::213:10ff:fe89:f7ec%4

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:10.3.1.2%2
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::209.51.161.14

C:\Documents and Settings\user>
« Last Edit: August 11, 2008, 10:17:15 PM by guardianx »
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1680
    • View Profile
    • Another IPv6 Blog...
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2008, 10:15:12 PM »

You shouldn't have anything tunnel related configured on the winxp machine, so I don't know why the pseudo-interface lists the tunnel-server. Then again I configure more Vista machines behind radvd servers than I do winxp, so I don't clearly remember what ipconfig information should look like.

If radvd is advertising correctly, the winxp machine will have an IP out of the 1f07 allocation that radvd advertises, and will only be on the ethernet adapter "Local Area Connection".
« Last Edit: August 11, 2008, 10:24:53 PM by broquea »
Logged

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 11:05:16 PM »

how do i check if radvd is advertise correctly? does anyone have winxp with ipv6 working correctly post their ipconfig output so i can see.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2008, 11:32:09 PM by guardianx »
Logged

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2008, 08:56:03 PM »

well here is an update to my journey to ipv6.......

i put my xp machine on dmz.. then i put this two command into the cmd
Code: [Select]
ipv6 rtu ::/0 2/::209.51.161.14 pub
ipv6 adu 2/2001:470:1f06:74d::2
the result.. i can browse ipv6 site see the turtle dance..

the problem is...
my other computer ie the laptop cant access ipv6. and  if i reboot my desktop winxp machine i would have to reenter the above code into cmd to browse ipv6 site.. 

does this mean my linksyster router is mess up? because it doesnt asign /rout the ipv6 to all pc within my network. does putting the computer into dmz zone help???
Logged

avongauss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Home Page
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2008, 10:30:52 PM »


Your Windows XP computer should not be in the DMZ unless there is a specific reason to do so unrelated to IPv6.  If your goal is still to have the router be your IPv6 endpoint, the first thing I would do is remove the Windows XP machine from the DMZ and remove any configuration you did on the Windows XP box to try and obtain IPv6 connectivity other than installing the Microsoft IPv6 protocol stack, then reboot the XP machine.  Since you're using radvd on the router, you will not need to make any configuration changes to either the XP machine or the laptop other than loading the Microsoft IPv6 protocol stack in order to obtain basic IPv6 connectivity. 

I am more familiar with OpenWRT than I am DD-WRT, but here are some basic thoughts.  It looks like br0 is your bridge which I presume is your lan and from the web site you copied instructions to create a new tunnel interface called he-ipv6.  From the commands you entered you have created an IPv6 tunnel on he-ipv6 and assigned it an address of 2001:470:1f06:74d::2/64.  Which is good.  Have you added an ipv6 address to your br0 interface from your delegated /64 of 2001:470:1f07 ?  If DD-WRT supports shell access or running commands, it would be helpful to see the results of the ifconfig from the router. 

To answer your radvd question directly, you can use radvdump if installed on the router to see when radvd sends advertisements to the network.  Radvd only sends announcements periodically, so it may take a while for one to show up.  The format from the dump is similar to the configuration but also includes the default parameters.  From the configuration you posted, I would remove the MTU entry and the Base6to4Interface entry which is for a 6to4 setup.


Logged

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2008, 10:54:55 PM »


Your Windows XP computer should not be in the DMZ unless there is a specific reason to do so unrelated to IPv6.  If your goal is still to have the router be your IPv6 endpoint, the first thing I would do is remove the Windows XP machine from the DMZ and remove any configuration you did on the Windows XP box to try and obtain IPv6 connectivity other than installing the Microsoft IPv6 protocol stack, then reboot the XP machine.  Since you're using radvd on the router, you will not need to make any configuration changes to either the XP machine or the laptop other than loading the Microsoft IPv6 protocol stack in order to obtain basic IPv6 connectivity. 

I am more familiar with OpenWRT than I am DD-WRT, but here are some basic thoughts.  It looks like br0 is your bridge which I presume is your lan and from the web site you copied instructions to create a new tunnel interface called he-ipv6.  From the commands you entered you have created an IPv6 tunnel on he-ipv6 and assigned it an address of 2001:470:1f06:74d::2/64.  Which is good.  Have you added an ipv6 address to your br0 interface from your delegated /64 of 2001:470:1f07 ?  If DD-WRT supports shell access or running commands, it would be helpful to see the results of the ifconfig from the router. 

To answer your radvd question directly, you can use radvdump if installed on the router to see when radvd sends advertisements to the network.  Radvd only sends announcements periodically, so it may take a while for one to show up.  The format from the dump is similar to the configuration but also includes the default parameters.  From the configuration you posted, I would remove the MTU entry and the Base6to4Interface entry which is for a 6to4 setup.



well i'm very new to this and not very skillfull with the computer but i think i finally understand what the mod was talking about with with the 1f07 jargon..  i think my radvd is working properly because my  ipconfig output from winxp is this...
Code: [Select]
Windows IP Configuration





Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



        Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : earthlink.net

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.3.1.2

        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f07:74d:6cad:3075:1139:77e0

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f07:74d:213:d4ff:fe4f:f96d

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::213:d4ff:fe4f:f96d%5

        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.3.1.1

                                            fe80::213:10ff:fe89:f7ec%5



Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:



        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%6

        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :



Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:



        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : earthlink.net

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:10.3.1.2%2

        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

from the look of things i guess my radvd is working ad doing the advertise correctly..
Code: [Select]
Pinging ftp.netbsd.org [2001:4f8:4:7:230:48ff:fe31:43f2]

from 2001:470:1f07:74d:6cad:3075:1139:77e0 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 2001:470:1f07:74d::: No route to destination.

Reply from 2001:470:1f07:74d::: No route to destination.

Reply from 2001:470:1f07:74d::: No route to destination.

Reply from 2001:470:1f07:74d::: No route to destination.



Ping statistics for 2001:4f8:4:7:230:48ff:fe31:43f2:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

i from the looks of things i think my startup scrip is wrong somewhere.. i will telent into router and give update.. again thank you for helping out this newbie.. btw.. i'm using this site as my guide http://solosoft.org:81/projects/ipv6/ipv6.html

i relook at the script and i'm missing the br0 part..so now it is like this

Code: [Select]
ip tunnel add sixbone mode sit remote 209.51.161.14 local MY.IP.FROM.ISP ttl 255
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip link set mtu 1280 dev he-ipv6
ip -6 addr add 2001:470:1f06:74d::2/64 dev he-ipv6
ip -6 ro add default via 2001:470:1f06:74d::1/64 dev he-ipv6
ip -6 addr add 2001:470:1f07:74d::/64 dev br0

« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 11:02:18 PM by guardianx »
Logged

avongauss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Home Page
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2008, 10:58:58 PM »

Actually, you're doing better than most - the router method is a bit more complex.  The ifconfig results would definitely be helpful, but my bet without seeing it is that the br0 interface does not have a real IPv6 address (2001:470...) which is why it cannot forward the packet from the br0 interface to the he-ipv6 interface.  You can also try the ping or ping6 from the router and see if that works to help verify.  Based on your ipconfig results, yes, radvd has setup the route.
Logged

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2008, 11:31:37 PM »

here is the output from my router..
Code: [Select]
DD-WRT VeryBusyBox v1.2.1 (2006.09.15-18:06+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

~ # ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:10:89:F7:EC 
          inet addr:10.3.1.1  Bcast:10.3.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC ALLMULTI MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:879 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:847 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:75526 (73.7 KiB)  TX bytes:788531 (770.0 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:10:89:F7:EC 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:3420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1077 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:261125 (255.0 KiB)  TX bytes:820850 (801.6 KiB)
          Interrupt:5

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:10:89:F7:EE 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:211 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:25
          TX packets:261 errors:504 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:23911 (23.3 KiB)  TX bytes:34110 (33.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

he-ipv6   Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr D0-78-85-F7-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1280  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:76 (76.0 B)  TX bytes:76 (76.0 B)

vlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:10:89:F7:EC 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:668 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1046 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:57425 (56.0 KiB)  TX bytes:812619 (793.5 KiB)

vlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:10:89:F7:ED 
          inet addr:208.120.133.247  Bcast:208.120.133.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC ALLMULTI MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2788 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:143930 (140.5 KiB)  TX bytes:3333 (3.2 KiB)

~ #
~ # exit

cant ping ipv6 site from router...

after i enter these two command on the winxp desktop..
ipv6 rtu ::/0 2/::209.51.161.14 pub
ipv6 adu 2/2001:470:1f06:74d::2

i was able to ping ipv6 site on the winxp desktop .. and still no ping on the router side. i guess there is a problem with my script.. between the router and the tunnel.. could it be a problem with the version of ddwrt i'm using? i'm using ddwrt v23 std...


« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 01:46:28 AM by guardianx »
Logged

guardianx

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: super noob here pleasehelp..
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2008, 11:19:18 AM »

my update to the journey to ipv6 part 2..
current info - turtle is dancing on all pc within network
how i got it working..
set up- router is a linksys wrt54g with ddwrt v24 crused hat version...(i guess there was something wrong with  v23 sp2 std which didnt allow ipv6 to work. )

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=199019 mimic his script. 

in conclusion thank avongauss  and others who helped me out. ty now the turtle can dance for me woot..


« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 01:08:35 PM by guardianx »
Logged