Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: ICMP Blocked  (Read 4935 times)

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
ICMP Blocked
« on: May 07, 2011, 08:34:29 AM »

Hi,

I have just upgraded to a dlink dsl-6740U, after trying the same settings my old router had, i'm still unable to open a hole in the firewall for HE tunnel.

If i turn off the firewall everything is fine, i need some help with the inbound filters:


Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2736
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 06:11:04 PM »

Is that 66. address the HE side?  You could do a 255.255.255.255 subnet mask and that should work.

there are no ports for ICMP

Obviously the destination is whatever PC you're using for your tunnel
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2011, 12:34:39 PM »

"whatever PC you're using for your tunnel" means my lan ip or my public ip?
i tried the lan ip and it didn't work and also the default gateway with a subnet mask didn't work either..
-ERROR: IP is not ICMP pingable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked. If you are blocking ICMP, please allow 66.220.2.74 through your firewall.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2011, 12:36:50 PM by Gorovoro »
Logged

stolen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2011, 03:06:37 PM »

You need to allow ICMP on the firewall, not forward it through the firewall. there should be  an option somewhere to allow pings.
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2011, 07:52:42 AM »

That's the only way i know how to do it and it worked fine on the previous router, if you know any other ways let me know..
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2736
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2011, 08:09:21 AM »

Quote
"whatever PC you're using for your tunnel" means my lan ip or my public ip?

The LAN IP (192.168.1.x or whatever)
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2011, 10:09:31 AM »

I tried that, it didn't work... any more suggestions?
Logged

Gorovoro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: ICMP Blocked
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2011, 10:45:43 PM »

Thanks everyone i just solved the problem with some luck :)
Logged