Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: rdns test  (Read 3870 times)

DOMBlogger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
rdns test
« on: September 07, 2011, 02:24:40 PM »

I set up rdns with my hosting company for my mail servers MX record a few hours ago.
The test still is not working, which I'm guessing means it just has not propagated yet.

Code: [Select]
[user@host ~] dig +short mail.domblogger.net AAAA
2600:3c00::f03c:91ff:fe93:ee82
[user@host ~] dig -x 2600:3c00::f03c:91ff:fe93:ee82 +short
mail.domblogger.net.

Since that is the MX listed domain, I assume that means it *will* work once the DNS properly propagates?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2737
Re: rdns test
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2011, 02:26:52 PM »

It looks good on my end...how long ago did you make the change?  Give it a day and if it still isn't working, email ipv6@he.net and let them know...they just need to refresh some things on their end
Logged

pcreager

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • PCv6.net
Re: rdns test
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2011, 01:42:26 PM »

Yup, looks good here too:

Code: [Select]
$ dig +noall +ans mx domblogger.net
domblogger.net. 604800 IN MX 10 mail.domblogger.net.
$ dig +noall +ans aaaa mail.domblogger.net
mail.domblogger.net. 604800 IN AAAA 2600:3c00::f03c:91ff:fe93:ee82
$ dig +noall +ans -x 2600:3c00::f03c:91ff:fe93:ee82
2.8.e.e.3.9.e.f.f.f.1.9.c.3.0.f.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.c.3.0.0.6.2.ip6.arpa. 86400 IN PTR mail.domblogger.net.

Just a friendly note, though: your TTLs are way too long.  If/when you ever need to change your IP or your mail host, it would take a week for it to propagate to all corners of the Internet.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 01:47:31 PM by pcreager »
Logged

DOMBlogger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: rdns test
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2011, 08:23:10 AM »

Thanks - I'm actually soon going to be running NSD for all my domains except for one.

I'm presently in the process of coding an admin interface that will meet my specific needs (though not everything NSD is capable of), and I am planning to use a 24 hour TTL as default, so when that's up, the TTL issue will be resolved.

For this exercise, I just used Linode's default.
Logged

pcreager

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • PCv6.net
Re: rdns test
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2011, 02:35:55 PM »

Thanks - I'm actually soon going to be running NSD...
Um, why?  If you want experience running DNS that's applicable in the real world, I say stick with BIND.
Logged