Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS  (Read 4976 times)

Caelyn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« on: September 21, 2011, 07:06:56 AM »

Hello,

Somehow I don't seem to be able to get past the guru test, it always says it can't find the AAAA
I have removed the ns1.he.net entry in the DNS settings, so it must use 2 to 5 for nameresolution...

Dig doesn't seem to be able to find any NS, but I have no clue how to solve this...

This is what DIG says:

DIG Output:
dig @2620:0:ccc::2 ipv6.caelyn.nl NS
; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-16.P1.el5 <<>> @2620:0:ccc::2 ipv6.caelyn.nl NS
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 37798
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.caelyn.nl.         IN   NS

;; Query time: 77 msec
;; SERVER: 2620:0:ccc::2#53(2620:0:ccc::2)
;; WHEN: Wed Sep 21 16:00:08 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 32

Can someone maybe point me in the right direction, so I can figure out what goes wrong?

Many thnx in advance :)

Caelyn
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2731
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2011, 07:27:19 AM »

That DNS server isn't aware of that host

Code: [Select]

[carl@mars ~]$ dig @2620:0:ccc::2 ipv6.caelyn.nl NS

; <<>> DiG 9.6.-ESV-R3 <<>> @2620:0:ccc::2 ipv6.caelyn.nl NS
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 44736
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.caelyn.nl.                        IN      NS

;; Query time: 85 msec
;; SERVER: 2620:0:ccc::2#53(2620:0:ccc::2)
;; WHEN: Wed Sep 21 10:25:08 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 32
Logged

johnpoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2011, 08:28:36 AM »

I show a AAAA for that host

dig @ns2.he.net ipv6.caelyn.nl AAAA

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.caelyn.nl.                        IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ipv6.caelyn.nl.         86400   IN      AAAA    2001:470:1f15:19e9:214:5eff:fe08:400f


Where did setup the NS records for that to be its own domain?

I show the nameservers for caelyn.nl as

Domain name: caelyn.nl
Status:      active

Registrar:
   Realtime Register
   Schrevenweg 5
   8024HB ZWOLLE
   Netherlands

Domain nameservers:
   ns2.he.net
   ns3.he.net
   ns4.he.net
   ns5.he.net


But I show no NS records for that ipv6 domain.  Where did you setup ipv6 as a subdomain of caelyn.nl ?


Logged

Caelyn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2011, 11:08:51 AM »

I have set it up in the he.net dns... @ my registrar I have set the nameservers to the he.net dns servers, and that's all I can set there... the weird thing, even if I disable ipv4 on my mac, it still works to reach the server...
Logged

johnpoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2011, 12:43:49 PM »

No you didn't

sorry but he.net dns does not have any NS records for ipv6.caelyn.nl

If you point caelyn.nl to he dns, if you want ipv6.caelyn.nl to be a subdomain then you need NS records at the he dns

example see my ipv6.foobar.net domain attached.

when I query he dns for NS record for my ipv6.foobar.net it resolves.  I have replaced my actual domain with foobar of course ;)

Code: [Select]
; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> @ns2.he.net ipv6.foobar.net NS
; (2 servers found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 1460
;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 8
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.foobar.net.              IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ipv6.foobar.net.       86400   IN      NS      ns2.he.net.
ipv6.foobar.net.       86400   IN      NS      ns3.he.net.
ipv6.foobar.net.       86400   IN      NS      ns4.he.net.
ipv6.foobar.net.       86400   IN      NS      ns5.he.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns4.he.net.             86400   IN      A       216.66.1.2
ns2.he.net.             86400   IN      AAAA    2001:470:200::2
ns5.he.net.             86400   IN      AAAA    2001:470:500::2
ns4.he.net.             86400   IN      AAAA    2001:470:400::2
ns3.he.net.             86400   IN      A       216.218.132.2
ns3.he.net.             86400   IN      AAAA    2001:470:300::2
ns2.he.net.             86400   IN      A       216.218.131.2
ns5.he.net.             86400   IN      A       216.66.80.18

;; Query time: 90 msec
;; SERVER: 2001:470:200::2#53(2001:470:200::2)
;; WHEN: Wed Sep 21 14:40:37 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 285


If we query he dns for your ipv6. NS records -- get nothing, so either you have not put them in, or something didn't work or typo or something.  Lets see your domain records like you see in my attachment

As to disable ipv4 on your mac -- have no idea what your talking about there??





Logged

Caelyn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2011, 06:20:09 PM »

Aaahh... right... now I get it... I thought that an AAAA record under the caelyn.nl domain was sufficient, but I need to set it up for ipv6.caelyn.nl on it's own aperently...

Gonna try that :)

Thnx :)
Logged

Caelyn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2011, 06:49:03 AM »

ok... small update...

I added ipv6.caelyn.nl with NS records to the he.net ns-servers, and now it is working...

I feel a bit stupid for missing that...

Sorry for bothering you guys, but much thnx for the help :)
Logged

johnpoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
Re: Issues with guru test on he.net's DNS
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2011, 07:00:03 AM »

well an AAAA would be fine if all you wanted was a host called ipv6 on the caelyn.nl domain.  But if you say want computer.ipv6.caelyn.nl your going to need to have a NS record for teh ipv6.caelyn.nl domain.

As to feeling stupid, happens to everyone now and then.  Glad could help, what we are here for.
Logged