Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration  (Read 13736 times)

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« on: October 10, 2011, 07:43:35 AM »

hi guys, i get ipv6 run in my network, and now i want to implement stateless autoconfiguration,
may i ask ur kindness to help me with a complete tutorial?

regard
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2011, 07:51:08 AM »

What operating system? You need a system to do Router Advertisements
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2011, 07:56:51 AM »

am running centos, yeah i need the configuration fro RADVD, i tried it but still failed!

interface eth0

{
        AdvSendAdvert on;
        prefix 2001:c08:3700:100::/64
        {
                AdvOnLink on;
                AdvAutonomous on;
                AdvRouterAddr on;
        };

};

i need the complete tutorial for the server as well for the client...
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2011, 07:33:33 PM »

anyone?
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2011, 10:25:42 PM »

i got one nice tutorial
http://mirrors.bieringer.de/Linux+IPv6-HOWTO/hints-daemons-radvd.html

is it possible to implement through wirelss? because it is written there that it is useful for LAN network? why? what are different between simple conf, special 6to4 conf and debugging? do i need to do some ip calculation for each client?

why it always used prefix /64 while i have two /48 and /64?



Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2011, 04:59:44 AM »

Yes, you can use it for wireless too...you just need to change the interface that you're advertising.

You're not running 6to4 with HE, so I wouldn't worry about it

Use the debug setup if you're having issues with your setup

A /64 is the smallest range that most programs will accept, so that's what you're stuck using.  HE gives you a /48 so you can have 64k of /64's (this is needed if you have more than one subnet

You don't need to do any calculation..RA is done for you based off the MAC address of the network adapter.
Logged

Jim Whitby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Jim Whitby
    • My small piece of cyberspace
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2011, 05:35:42 AM »

am running centos, yeah i need the configuration fro RADVD, i tried it but still failed!

interface eth0

{
        AdvSendAdvert on;
        prefix 2001:c08:3700:100::/64
        {
                AdvOnLink on;
                AdvAutonomous on;
                AdvRouterAddr on;
        };

};

i need the complete tutorial for the server as well for the client...

How did it fail?
What is the output of radvdump?
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2011, 07:30:28 AM »

suppose my net shud be this way:

#ifconfig
eth0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:18:EE:C6:4F
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:28 Base address:0xe000

eth1   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:01:D2:2B:D1
          inet addr:202.47.88.XX  Bcast:202.47.88.79  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::224:1ff:fed2:2bd1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:311913 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:105610 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:102114023 (97.3 MiB)  TX bytes:13764699 (13.1 MiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x8c00

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:35:XXX::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca2f:584c/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:1410 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1410
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

lo       Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:224484 (219.2 KiB)  TX bytes:224484 (219.2 KiB)

sit0    Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: ::202.47.88.XX/96 Scope:Compat
          inet6 addr: ::127.0.0.1/96 Scope:Unknown
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

sit1    Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca2f:5843/64 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:35:XXX::2/64 Scope:Global
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:172 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:17746 (17.3 KiB)  TX bytes:125612 (122.6 KiB)

which interface that's advertising in the net? i still confused about eth0  and eth1
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2011, 08:22:18 AM »

It doesn't like you're using eth0 for anything

eth1 has traffic and a public IP address.

You'll want to assign a IPv6 address to this interface too
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2011, 10:03:25 AM »

so u mean i shud use eth1?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2011, 10:05:27 AM »

From what you've shown me, yes. 

It looks like there is a network cable plugged into that interface, but it doesn't look like any traffic is flowing in or out.
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2011, 11:05:41 PM »

hi guys, i need ur help

i got prefix /64 and /48 from HE, but i used /64:
2001:470:xx:xxx::/64

radvd conf:
interface eth2 {
        AdvSendAdvert on;
        MinRtrAdvInterval 3;
        prefix 2001:470:xx:xxx::/64 {
                AdvOnLink on;
                AdvAutonomous on;
                AdvRouterAddr on;
        };
};


now i've different ifonfig because i changed my NIC:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:18:EE:C6:4F 
          inet addr:202.47.88.67  Bcast:202.47.88.79  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::226:18ff:feee:c64f/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:628364 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10502 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:67415880 (64.2 MiB)  TX bytes:2127919 (2.0 MiB)
          Interrupt:28 Base address:0xa000

eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:40:F4:EA:7D:DD 
          inet addr:172.27.11.66  Bcast:172.27.11.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::240:f4ff:feea:7ddd/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:327438 errors:336305 dropped:292246 overruns:336305 frame:0
          TX packets:838 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:31261577 (29.8 MiB)  TX bytes:86715 (84.6 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x4c00

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4 
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca2f:5843/128 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:35:270::2/64 Scope:Global
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:459 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:589 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:394222 (384.9 KiB)  TX bytes:90240 (88.1 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:145 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:145 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:14879 (14.5 KiB)  TX bytes:14879 (14.5 KiB)



my client ifconfig:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:e0:4c:87:0f:8e 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:29 address 0x2000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1568 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1568 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:720 (720.0 B)  TX bytes:720 (720.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 48:5d:60:53:2f:6b 
          inet addr:172.27.11.111  Bcast:172.27.11.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::4a5d:60ff:fe53:2f6b/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:268742 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:170810 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:345570258 (345.5 MB)  TX bytes:19965989 (19.9 MB


and i try to connect them manually through eth2 setting.

successfully connect to client:
ping 172.27.11.111
PING 172.27.11.111 (172.27.11.111) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 172.27.11.111: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=13.9 ms
64 bytes from172.27.11.111: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.93 ms
64 bytes from 172.27.11.111: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=2.55 ms
^C
--- 172.27.11.111 ping statistics ---


radvdump:
[root@ip6 ~]# radvdump


^C

*doent give any response

and the client cant connect to the ipv6 yet? what shud i do?
is the connection between server and client false? thank u
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2011, 04:07:29 AM »

X'ing out IP addresses makes it hard to help

You need to assigna IPv6 address to every interface that you want to route/pass IPv6 traffic.  If those interfaces are in different subnets, assign a /64 from your /48 to each subnet
Logged

smith21

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2011, 04:51:01 AM »

how to assign it?can u show me the way? i dont really know how to do that?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3