Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Assign Static Addresses from Tunnelbroker  (Read 2720 times)

conradtulk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Assign Static Addresses from Tunnelbroker
« on: October 25, 2011, 11:11:36 PM »

Hi,
I have a tunnel setup to my Linksys E3200. Everything works perfectly, all my computers are being assigned IPv6 addresses from my /64. I wish to assign another IPv6 address to my Ubuntu machine on the network. This machine is already getting a IPv6 address assigned by the router. Is there a way to also assign a static IPv6 address alongside the dynamic one?

Thanks
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: Assign Static Addresses from Tunnelbroker
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 11:20:50 PM »

ip addr add i:p:v:6::address dev devname

and alternatively, in /etc/network/interfaces
Logged

conradtulk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Assign Static Addresses from Tunnelbroker
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2011, 11:22:19 PM »

Perfect, I didn't know for sure if that would route. I can just manually add static IPv6 addresses as needed?

Thanks!
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Assign Static Addresses from Tunnelbroker
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2011, 05:32:30 AM »

Perfect, I didn't know for sure if that would route. I can just manually add static IPv6 addresses as needed?

Thanks!

Yep...as long as the addresses are in the same /64 you don't need to do any extra routing.  The only time you need to do some routing is if you're using something from your /48 and your host has no idea where the next hop is
Logged