Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS  (Read 8216 times)

rockyz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« on: November 02, 2011, 02:29:14 AM »

When I try to input my IPv6 webserver at Enthusiast level, there are a warning message pop out.

I already activated a domain, and configured webserver AAAA recorde as below:

===================
Raw AXFR output from ns1.he.net
rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   SOA   ns1.he.net. hostmaster.he.net. (
               2011110108   ; Serial
               10800   ; Refresh
               1800   ; Retry
               604800   ; Expire
               86400 )   ; Minimum TTL
rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   NS   ns1.he.net.
rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   NS   ns2.he.net.
rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   NS   ns3.he.net.
rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   NS   ns5.he.net.
rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   NS   ns4.he.net.
www.rockyzzz.com.   86400   IN   AAAA   2001:470:4830:0:423c:fcff:fe00:1933


btw, on webserver side I use nslookup to check it. When using "nslookup -type=aaaa www.rockyzzz.com ns1.he.net" command, I can get correct IPv6 address.

Thanks so much,
Rocky
« Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 02:41:23 AM by rockyz »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 05:08:16 AM »

What error do you get?

I don't see any entries for rockyzzz.com

Code: [Select]

[carl@mars ~]$ host rockyzzz.com
Host rockyzzz.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
[carl@mars ~]$ host www.rockyzzz.com
Host www.rockyzzz.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

Logged

k1mu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 05:15:45 AM »

When I try to input my IPv6 webserver at Enthusiast level, there are a warning message pop out.

I already activated a domain

I'm not sure what you mean by "activated a domain" - you haven't registered it as far as I can see.
Quote
$ whois rockyzzz.com
[Querying whois.verisign-grs.com]
[whois.verisign-grs.com]

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

No match for domain "ROCKYZZZ.COM".
>>> Last update of whois database: Wed, 02 Nov 2011 12:12:13 UTC <<<
You'll need to register the domain before you can use it.
Logged

rockyz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 05:58:56 AM »

even Enthusiast level, I also need to register a domain-name firstly?  

if I have one registered domain-name in some registrar, I can put it into FreeDNS of he.net and don't care the original register?

Thanks,
Rocky
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2011, 06:02:02 AM »

Quote
even Enthusiast level, I also need to register a domain-name firstly? 

I don't remember what the enthusiast level is, but you'll need a domain later on in the tests for sure

Quote
if I have one registered domain-name in some registrar, I can put it into FreeDNS of he.net and don't care the original register?

Yes, if I read that correctly, you can use HE or someone else to host the DNS for it. 
Logged

rockyz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2011, 07:22:32 AM »

I just registered a hostname rzhome.mooo.com and finished AAAA and PTR records in HE freeDNS.

The same problem here,

No AAAA record found for rzhome.mooo.com
Code: [Select]
                                                                    [Reset Test]
Help Step Description Data
[1] Completed: Code generated s7yswre5em
[2] Tell us what your IPv6 website is; FQDN please http:// rzhome.mooo.com/
[3] We will test grabbing the file:
[4] Schedule the test:
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2011, 07:27:19 AM »

Looks like you have an AAAA record now

Code: [Select]

[carl@mars ~]$ host rzhome.mooo.com
rzhome.mooo.com has IPv6 address 2001:470:4830:0:423c:fcff:fe00:1933


What's your TTL though?
Logged

rockyz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2011, 07:30:01 AM »

86400, here it is:
Code: [Select]
; mooo.com Dumped Wed Nov  2 07:28:14 2011
;
mooo.com. 86400 IN SOA ns1.he.net. hostmaster.he.net. (
2011110208 ; Serial
10800 ; Refresh
1800 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire
86400 ) ; Minimum TTL
mooo.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.he.net.
mooo.com. 86400 IN NS ns2.he.net.
mooo.com. 86400 IN NS ns3.he.net.
mooo.com. 86400 IN NS ns5.he.net.
mooo.com. 86400 IN NS ns4.he.net.
rzhome.mooo.com. 86400 IN AAAA 2001:470:4830:0:423c:fcff:fe00:1933
   
Logged

rockyz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: AAAA record for my webserver can't be found by FreeDNS
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2011, 08:44:30 AM »

After one hour changing to the real domain name, the test passed.

Thanks so much for you guys' help,
Rocky
Logged