Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net  (Read 8741 times)

ComPughTerWorx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net
« on: January 18, 2012, 06:12:02 PM »

Has anyone set up Dynamic DNS in pfSense 2.0.1 for he.net (standard IPv4 DNS, not the tunnelbroker)?  I've tried every combination of username and password (those I use to log onto he.net and the <domain>.com and MD5 hash generated from the DDNS column of the Free DNS Management page).  I've tried each combination with and without the wildcard enabled since I found info in this forum that wildcards have been disabled.  In every case I get 0.0.0.0 showing in red for the Cached IP.  An excerpt from the system log shows:

Jan 18 18:44:57      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: updatedns() starting
Jan 18 18:44:57      check_reload_status: Syncing firewall
Jan 18 18:44:58      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns debug information: 89.158.94.121 extracted from local system.
Jan 18 18:44:58      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: Current WAN IP: 89.158.94.121 No Cached IP found.
Jan 18 18:44:58      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns debug information: DynDns: cacheIP != wan_ip. Updating. Cached IP: 0.0.0.0 WAN IP: 89.158.94.121 Inital update.
Jan 18 18:44:58      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: DynDns _update() starting.
Jan 18 18:44:58      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: HE.net: DNS update() starting.
Jan 18 18:44:59      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: DynDns _checkStatus() starting.
Jan 18 18:44:59      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: Current Service: he-net
Jan 18 18:44:59      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: Curl error occurred: Couldn't bind to '89.158.94.121'
Jan 18 18:45:03      php: : Config sync not being done because of missing sync IP (this is normal on secondary systems).
Jan 18 18:46:40      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: updatedns() starting
Jan 18 18:46:40      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns debug information: 89.158.94.121 extracted from local system.
Jan 18 18:46:40      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: Current WAN IP: 89.158.94.121 Cached IP: 0.0.0.0
Jan 18 18:46:40      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns debug information: DynDns: cacheIP != wan_ip. Updating. Cached IP: 0.0.0.0 WAN IP: 89.158.94.121
Jan 18 18:46:40      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: DynDns _update() starting.
Jan 18 18:46:40      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: HE.net: DNS update() starting.
Jan 18 18:46:40      check_reload_status: Syncing firewall
Jan 18 18:46:41      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: DynDns _checkStatus() starting.
Jan 18 18:46:41      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: DynDns: Current Service: he-net
Jan 18 18:46:41      php: /services_dyndns_edit.php: Curl error occurred: bind failed with errno 22: Invalid argument
Jan 18 18:46:45      php: : Config sync not being done because of missing sync IP (this is normal on secondary systems).

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,
Mike Pugh
Logged

mageminds

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 12:35:54 PM »

In the Hostname you enter the complete host name you have setup in the HE dns management, it has to be set as dynamic obviously. dyn.example.com

In the Username you enter your host name again. dyn.example.com

In the password you enter the DDNS Key generated from the HE dns management. QuFKDc5eqn8W3Yqj
Logged

ComPughTerWorx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 07:17:16 PM »

I appreciate your help, but this isn't working for me.  My A record is just example.com as opposed to host.example.com.  I'm copying this into both the Hostname and Username fields.  I then generate a key by clicking on the semicirclular arrow button with the tooltip that says "Generate a DDNS key." and clicking the Generate a key button in the pop-up.  When the key appears in both of the above fields, I copy it from one and hit Submit.  I then return to the Dynamic DNS page of pfSense and paste the key into the Password field.  Service type -> HE.net; Interface to monitor -> WAN; Save.  The Cached IP field shows 0.0.0.0.  Have you verified that this is working for you?
Logged

johnpoz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 02:36:35 PM »

I just tested this.. Created a A record in my zone I have on he.net - its my ipv6 subzone I had pointed to HE for cert tests, but sure can create a A record in it.

So I did it here from work, and it put in my work address at first, checked off to enable my ddns -- then hit that arrows and generated key.  Then put in the test.ipv6.mydomain.net as host and username on pfsense and put in the generated key from he as the password.

And shazam it updated my he record.

So here are screenshots showing it working.

make sure you use the he.net vs the he tunnelbroker in the dropdown.

Guess its possible its broke in 2.0.1 - I run the development code - I would think you should be too if playing with he.net IPv6 tunnels on pfsense.

2.1-DEVELOPMENT (i386)
built on Fri Nov 25 17:45:38 EST 2011
FreeBSD 8.1-RELEASE-p6

Even just did a query to make sure it works -

; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> test.ipv6.snipped.net
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 38129
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;test.ipv6.snipped.net.         IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
test.ipv6.snipped.net.  300     IN      A       24.13.xxx.20

From the errors you have in your log about binding, etc.  You prob better of troubleshooting your issue on the pfsense forums..  Sure looks like there is nothing wrong with the he system to me.  And it works on my pfsense, but again I am running 2.1 and run gitsyncs prob once a week to keep up with the lastest code -- maybe there is something broke in the 2.0.1 that has not been fixed yet?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2012, 02:50:33 PM by johnpoz »
Logged

kolinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2012, 04:06:15 PM »

I'm coming late to this party, but I wanted to post what I found for anyone else having this problem.

The curl error is related to this bug http://curl.haxx.se/mail/tracker-2010-12/0008.html, basically curl is trying to bind an ipv6 address on an ipv4 interface.  My first thought was to add the curl ipv4 option to the script, but it seems that this option is missing in PHP 5.2 https://bugs.php.net/bug.php?id=47739.  What worked for me, since I was running the DNS forwarder anyway, was to add just the ipv4 address for dns.he.net to the host overrides in the DNS forwarder.  You should be able to accomplish the same thing by adding this to your hosts file but I haven't tested that.
Logged

liuxyon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense Dynamic DNS configuration for he.net
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2012, 11:13:04 PM »

I have to find two solution.

look at:
http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,45279.0.html
Logged