Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: cant get tunnel working in ubuntu 11.10  (Read 3257 times)

cbilljones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
cant get tunnel working in ubuntu 11.10
« on: February 09, 2012, 10:21:53 PM »

Hi ive followed the wiki and video but cant seem to get this going. This is my config, does it look like something is configured wrong? Only thing i changed from sample text was my local ip

root@cbilljones-P43T-ES3G:/home/cbilljones# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 1c:6f:65:a6:1f:66  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:44

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4  
          inet6 addr: fe80::c0a8:166/128 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f10:1b6::2/64 Scope:Global
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:182 errors:5 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:5
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:17436 (17.4 KB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:40907 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:40907 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:270536956 (270.5 MB)  TX bytes:270536956 (270.5 MB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 54:e6:fc:99:41:82  
          inet addr:192.168.1.102  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f11:1b6::/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::56e6:fcff:fe99:4182/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:74377661 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:57370049 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000

Thanks for any input in advance
 

Ive changed my ip to 2001:470:1f11:1b6::1(my routed ipv6 prefix is 2001:470:1f11:1b6::, ive tried that as well for ip)  i can ping that, and i can ping 2001:470:1f10:1b6::2 which is my client ipv6 address. So i have ip set to that, prefix set to 64, gateway set to 2001:470:1f10:1b6::1 which is my server ipv6 address, i have dns set to 2001:470:20::2. I cannot ping my gateway.
Have my PC set to DMZ in router, firewall on ubuntu is disabled.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 11:03:21 PM by cbilljones »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: cant get tunnel working in ubuntu 11.10
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2012, 05:33:34 AM »

First thing...what commands did you use to create the tunnel? Did you remember to use your NAT address of 192.168.1.102 instead of your public IP address?

Second thing...are you sure that your router is passing protocol 41 traffic?  Just because your computer is in the DMZ doesn't mean the router is handing it all of the proto/41 traffic
Logged

cbilljones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: cant get tunnel working in ubuntu 11.10
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2012, 07:22:47 AM »

First thing...what commands did you use to create the tunnel? Did you remember to use your NAT address of 192.168.1.102 instead of your public IP address?

Second thing...are you sure that your router is passing protocol 41 traffic?  Just because your computer is in the DMZ doesn't mean the router is handing it all of the proto/41 traffic
The commands i used are:

modprobe ipv6
ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 209.51.181.2 local 192.168.1.102 ttl 255
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add 2001:470:1f10:1b6::2/64 dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip -f inet6 addr

Thanks
« Last Edit: February 10, 2012, 07:24:57 AM by cbilljones »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: cant get tunnel working in ubuntu 11.10
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2012, 07:24:04 AM »

That looks OK...then I'd have to assume that your router isn't passing protocol41
Logged

cbilljones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: cant get tunnel working in ubuntu 11.10
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2012, 07:25:31 AM »

That looks OK...then I'd have to assume that your router isn't passing protocol41

Thats what i was worried about, will have to try another
Logged