Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac  (Read 7530 times)

ssimlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« on: February 23, 2012, 09:09:54 AM »

I have a home DSL service from O2 in UK. My home router is a Speedtouch TG585n.

I am trying to use a Mac running 10.7.3 as the tunnel endpoint. My Mac has a permanent private IP address of 192.168.1.123

I created a Tunnel from my home router and it is active and pingable

On the Speedtouch I have a NAT statement mapping my Mac IP address to the public IP address of the Tunnel

On the Mac (which has a private address - 192.168.1.123) I have entered:

ifconfig gif0 create
ifconfig gif0 tunnel 192.168.1.123 216.66.84.46
ifconfig gif0 inet6 2001:470:1f14:362::2 2001:470:1f14:362::1 prefixlen 128
route -n add -inet6 default 2001:470:1f14:362::1

but I am not seeing the tunnel gif0 in the routing table of my Mac:

Pro:~ user$ netstat -r
Routing tables

Internet:
Destination        Gateway            Flags        Refs      Use   Netif Expire
default            192.168.1.254      UGSc          116        0     en2
127                localhost          UCS             0        0     lo0
localhost          localhost          UH              5       61     lo0
169.254            link#6             UCS             1        0     en2
169.254.255.255    0:22:55:35:dc:38   UHLSW           0        0     en2
192.168.1          link#6             UCS             7        0     en2
192.168.1.64       f8:1e:df:df:b:27   UHLWIi          2      419     en2    756
192.168.1.66       0:d0:4b:81:e9:ab   UHLWIi          0      101     en2    948
192.168.1.68       0:16:cb:3:d1:fe    UHLWIi          1      411     en2    777
192.168.1.111      0:21:47:9d:56:fa   UHLWIi          0        0     en2    708
192.168.1.123      localhost          UHS             0        0     lo0
192.168.1.254      0:18:f6:ef:f1:2a   UHLWIi        115      394     en2   1191
192.168.1.255      ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff  UHLWbI          0       19     en2

Internet6:
Destination        Gateway            Flags         Netif Expire
localhost          link#1             UHL             lo0
fe80::%lo0         localhost          UcI             lo0
localhost          link#1             UHLI            lo0
fe80::%en2         link#6             UCI             en2
pro.local          0:19:e3:d:6:d4     UHLI            lo0
ff01::%lo0         localhost          UmCI            lo0
ff01::%en2         link#6             UmCI            en2
ff02::%lo0         localhost          UmCI            lo0
ff02::%en2         link#6             UmCI            en2
Pro:~ user$

nor do I see any use being made of the NAT entry on my ST:

{steve}[nat]=>maplist
Idx Type Interface       Outside Address                Inside Address                 Use
  1 NAT  Static_IP       87.194.152.105:8               127.0.0.1:8                    0
  2 NAT  Static_IP       87.194.152.105                 127.0.0.1                      0
  3 NAPT Static_IP       87.194.152.105:7547            127.0.0.1:7547                 0
  4 NAT  Static_IP       216.66.84.46                   192.168.1.123                  0
  5 NAPT Static_IP       87.194.152.105                 unmapped                       177
{steve}[nat]=>

Any ideas appreciated ?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 09:43:26 AM »

are you running these by hand?

I can't remember if OSX uses /etc/rc.conf or not
Logged

ssimlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2012, 09:53:13 AM »

Sorry when you say "by hand" what exactly you mean ? I see this from the Mac:

Pro:~ user$ ifconfig
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
   options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
   inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
   inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
   inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
gif0: flags=8051<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
   tunnel inet 192.168.1.123 --> 216.66.84.46
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
   options=2b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_HWTAGGING,TSO4>
   ether 00:17:f2:06:03:06
   media: autoselect
   status: inactive
en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
   options=2b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_HWTAGGING,TSO4>
   ether 00:17:f2:06:03:07
   media: autoselect
   status: inactive
en2: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
   ether 00:19:e3:0d:06:d4
   inet6 fe80::219:e3ff:fe0d:6d4%en2 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x6
   inet 192.168.1.123 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
   media: autoselect
   status: active
fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 2030
   lladdr 00:16:cb:ff:fe:76:b1:ee
   media: autoselect <full-duplex>
   status: inactive
Pro:~ user$
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2012, 09:57:25 AM »

by hand, as in you don't have them in a startup file somewhere
Logged

ssimlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2012, 10:01:49 AM »

Ah ok no.....you suggest to create a script and run at startup ?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2012, 10:04:48 AM »

Here's how I have mine working

(This is FreeBSD, not OSX, but IIRC they're really close)

Code: [Select]
cat /etc/rc.conf

gif_interfaces="gif1"
gifconfig_gif1="your_ipv4 he_ipv4"
ipv6_enable="YES"
ipv6_gateway_enable="YES"
ipv6_ifconfig_gif1="::2 address from your tunnel /64"
ipv6_defaultrouter="-interface gif1"
ipv6_network_interfaces="em0 gif1 lo0"
ipv6_ifconfig_em0="whatever address you want to assign from your routed /64"
denyhosts_enable="YES"
Logged

ssimlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2012, 10:17:25 AM »

You seem to have more in your settings than I entered in my Mac. I was just using:

ifconfig gif0 create
ifconfig gif0 tunnel 87.194.152.105 216.66.84.46
ifconfig gif0 inet6 2001:470:1f14:362::2 2001:470:1f14:362::1 prefixlen 128
route -n add -inet6 default 2001:470:1f14:362::1

one possible clue could be:

Pro:~ user$ sudo route -n add -inet6 default 2001:470:1f14:362::1
Password:
route: writing to routing socket: Network is unreachable
add net default: gateway 2001:470:1f14:362::1: Network is unreachable
Pro:~ user$
Logged

ssimlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2012, 10:21:11 AM »

OK one small step...maybe....I got the tunnel into my routing table:

Pro:~ user$ sudo ifconfig gif0 create
ifconfig: SIOCIFCREATE2: File exists
Pro:~ user$ sudo ifconfig gif0 tunnel 87.194.152.105 216.66.84.46
Pro:~ user$ sudo ifconfig gif0 inet6 2001:470:1f14:362::2 2001:470:1f14:362::1 prefixlen 128
Pro:~ user$ sudo route -n add -inet6 default 2001:470:1f14:362::1
add net default: gateway 2001:470:1f14:362::1
Pro:~ user$ netstat -r
Routing tables

Internet:
Destination        Gateway            Flags        Refs      Use   Netif Expire
default            192.168.1.254      UGSc           52        8     en2
127                localhost          UCS             0        0     lo0
localhost          localhost          UH              5       63     lo0
169.254            link#6             UCS             1        0     en2
169.254.255.255    0:22:55:35:dc:38   UHLSW           0        0     en2
192.168.1          link#6             UCS             6        0     en2
192.168.1.64       f8:1e:df:df:b:27   UHLWIi          1     1065     en2    511
192.168.1.66       0:d0:4b:81:e9:ab   UHLWIi          0      101     en2   1124
192.168.1.68       0:16:cb:3:d1:fe    UHLWIi          2     1041     en2    313
192.168.1.123      localhost          UHS             0        0     lo0
192.168.1.254      0:18:f6:ef:f1:2a   UHLWIi         52      747     en2   1172
192.168.1.255      ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff  UHLWbI          0       17     en2

Internet6:
Destination        Gateway            Flags         Netif Expire
default            ssimlo-1.tunnel.ts UGSc           gif0
localhost          link#1             UHL             lo0
ssimlo-1.tunnel.ts ssimlo-1-pt.tunnel UH             gif0
ssimlo-1-pt.tunnel link#2             UHL             lo0
fe80::%lo0         localhost          UcI             lo0
localhost          link#1             UHLI            lo0
fe80::%gif0        link#2             UCI            gif0
fe80::217:f2ff:fe0 link#2             UHLI            lo0
fe80::%en2         link#6             UCI             en2
pro.local          0:19:e3:d:6:d4     UHLI            lo0
ff01::%lo0         localhost          UmCI            lo0
ff01::%gif0        link#2             UmCI           gif0
ff01::%en2         link#6             UmCI            en2
ff02::%lo0         localhost          UmCI            lo0
ff02::%gif0        link#2             UmCI           gif0
ff02::%en2         link#6             UmCI            en2
Pro:~ user$
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2012, 10:35:17 AM »

Code: [Select]
sudo ifconfig gif0 tunnel 87.194.152.105 216.66.84.46
needs to be like how you had in your initial post:

Code: [Select]
sudo ifconfig gif0 tunnel 192.168.1.123 216.66.84.46
Also try putting host in the DMZ if possible, that might help. At the worst, try bypassing any NAT at all and have the Mac use the actual IPv4 address, and if that still doesn't work, it might be something upstream causing issues.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2012, 11:05:35 AM by broquea »
Logged

nickbeee

  • tunneld
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • I do this just for fun.
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2012, 10:41:56 AM »

Can you ping6 2001:470:1f14:362::2  and 2001:470:1f14:362::1 ??

::2 would indicate ipv6 is alive and well in the interface, ::1 success would indicate the tunnel is up.

As Broquea just mentioned, you are behind NAT so your ipv4 end if the tunnel should be your private ipv4.
 
Logged
Nick B.

Tunnelling with [Open|Net|Free]BSD and IOS.
IPv6 courtesy of   HE and   Sixxs.

nickbeee

  • tunneld
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • I do this just for fun.
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2012, 11:37:35 AM »

Also your TG585 will probably be blocking protocol-41. This post: http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=633.0 gives details how to resolve that.
Logged
Nick B.

Tunnelling with [Open|Net|Free]BSD and IOS.
IPv6 courtesy of   HE and   Sixxs.

ssimlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Tunnel not coming up on my Mac
« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2012, 11:54:48 AM »

Broquea - thanks...the TG does not give access to the DMZ but have reverted to the correct tunnel endpoint and eureka !

"Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be 87.194.152.105

Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be 2001:470:1f14:362::2

The World IPv6 Launch day is June 6th, 2012. Good news! Your current browser, on this computer and at this location, are expected to keep working after the Launch. [more info]

Congratulations! You appear to have both IPv4 and IPv6 Internet working. If a publisher publishes to IPv6, your browser will connect using IPv6. Your browser prefers IPv6 over IPv4 when given the choice (this is the expected outcome).

Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have no access to the IPv6 Internet, or is not configured to use it. This may in the future restrict your ability to reach IPv6-only sites. [more info]"
Logged