Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Populating a Newly Created Forward DNS Zone  (Read 6984 times)

ccain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Populating a Newly Created Forward DNS Zone
« on: March 28, 2012, 08:34:45 PM »

Hi all.

I am currently hosting my personal domain (christophercain.ca) on Zone Edit and want to move the zone to HE's free DNS servers.  After creating the zone on HE, do I have to add each of my existing zone records one at a time or is there a method to import an entire zone file into the zone?

Thank you,

Chris.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 766
Re: Populating a Newly Created Forward DNS Zone
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 11:27:19 AM »

Create the zone on HE as secondary, let it transfer, then change it to primary.
Logged

ccain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Populating a Newly Created Forward DNS Zone
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2012, 11:29:31 AM »

Create the zone on HE as secondary, let it transfer, then change it to primary.

I'll give that a try.  Thank you very much for the reply.

Chris.
Logged

ccain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Populating a Newly Created Forward DNS Zone
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2012, 12:43:09 PM »

That worked.  Thank you.

Do you (or anyone else) know how to change the RNAME field (the SOA email address)?

Thanks,

Chris.
Logged