Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: only ipv6.google.com is not working...  (Read 9275 times)

umlab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« on: May 23, 2012, 08:38:03 AM »

Hey,
I have just created the tunnel, all sites I tried worked fine www.kame.net, www.v6.facebook.com, ipv6.he.net, test-ipv6.com... also the ping worked.
But when I trie to open ipv6.google.com it is just not working, on a ping Im getting a Time Out.

Anyone got an idea!?
Thanks.

C:\Windows\system32>ping ipv6.google.com

Ping wird ausgeführt für ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:4016:801::1012] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.

Ping-Statistik für 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012:
    Pakete: Gesendet = 4, Empfangen = 0, Verloren = 4
    (100% Verlust),

C:\Windows\system32>tracert ipv6.google.com

Routenverfolgung zu ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:4016:801::1012] über maximal 30 Abschnitte:

  1     *        *        *     Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
  2     *        *        *     Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
  3  ^C


C:\Windows\system32>ping ipv6.he.net

Ping wird ausgeführt für ipv6.he.net [2001:470:0:64::2] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Antwort von 2001:470:0:64::2: Zeit=167ms
Antwort von 2001:470:0:64::2: Zeit=167ms
Antwort von 2001:470:0:64::2: Zeit=168ms
Antwort von 2001:470:0:64::2: Zeit=168ms

Ping-Statistik für 2001:470:0:64::2:
    Pakete: Gesendet = 4, Empfangen = 4, Verloren = 0
    (0% Verlust),
Ca. Zeitangaben in Millisek.:
    Minimum = 167ms, Maximum = 168ms, Mittelwert = 167ms

C:\Windows\system32>tracert ipv6.he.net

Routenverfolgung zu ipv6.he.net [2001:470:0:64::2] über maximal 30 Abschnitte:

  1    19 ms    18 ms    24 ms  umlab-1.tunnel.tserv6.fra1.ipv6.he.net [2001:470:1f0a:47f::1]
  2    15 ms    38 ms    13 ms  gige-g2-20.core1.fra1.he.net [2001:470:0:69::1]
  3    28 ms    48 ms    29 ms  10gigabitethernet5-3.core1.lon1.he.net [2001:470:0:1d2::1]
  4    98 ms    98 ms    98 ms  10gigabitethernet7-4.core1.nyc4.he.net [2001:470:0:128::1]
  5   163 ms   162 ms   155 ms  10gigabitethernet5-3.core1.lax1.he.net [2001:470:0:10e::1]
  6   164 ms   167 ms   173 ms  10gigabitethernet4-2.core3.fmt2.he.net [2001:470:0:18d::1]
  7   165 ms   173 ms   173 ms  2001:470:0:263::2
  8   169 ms   171 ms   174 ms  10gigabitethernet1-2.core1.fmt1.he.net [2001:470:0:2e::1]
  9   168 ms   167 ms   167 ms  ipv6.he.net [2001:470:0:64::2]

Ablaufverfolgung beendet.[/font][/font]

Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 08:58:48 AM »

Strange.

I'm able to ping that address

Code: [Select]

C:\Users\cholzhauer>ping 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012

Pinging 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012: time=220ms
Reply from 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012: time=228ms
Reply from 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012: time=143ms
Reply from 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012: time=199ms


Can you ping 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014 ?
Logged

umlab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2012, 09:42:26 AM »

Hi,
thanks for reply, yes I can ping that address:
Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>ping 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014

Ping wird ausgeführt für 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014 mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Antwort von 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014: Zeit=235ms
Antwort von 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014: Zeit=126ms
Antwort von 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014: Zeit=380ms
Antwort von 2607:f8b0:4009:802::1014: Zeit=302ms

Im at home now but ipv6.google.com is still not working no http no ping

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>ping ipv6.google.com

Ping wird ausgeführt für ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:4016:800::1014] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.

Thanks.
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2012, 09:50:29 AM »

From the traceroute outputs it is evident, that your computer is using a different route to reach 2a00:1450:4016:800::1014, and that route is not working.

Try to take a look on your routing table. You are using an operating system, which I do not know, so I cannot tell you how to see the routing table on that OS. But you can probably find documentation somewhere on the Internet.

Additionally, you can try to do more traceroute commands since the problem probably isn't just affecting one single IP, but rather a range of some size. The question is how long a prefix the bad route is using.

Try to compare traceroute towards 2001::1, 2607::1, and 2a00::1. Probably none of those will respond, but the traceroute output will still tell you something about the problem you have with your routing table.
Logged

umlab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2012, 10:08:37 AM »

Hi,
thanks for the info.
I gues you are looking for this:
Code: [Select]
IPv6-Routentabelle
===========================================================================
Aktive Routen:
 If Metrik Netzwerkziel             Gateway
 35    286 ::/0                     2a01:d0:ffff:385::1
 35    286 ::/0                     2001:470:1f0a:47f::1
  1    306 ::1/128                  Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2001:470:1f0a:47f::/64   Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2001:470:1f0a:47f::2/128 Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2a01:d0:ffff:385::/64    Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2a01:d0:ffff:385::2/128  Auf Verbindung
 15    281 fe80::/64                Auf Verbindung
 35    286 fe80::/64                Auf Verbindung
 15    281 fe80::259a:be85:ad92:5e2c/128
                                    Auf Verbindung
 35    286 fe80::b810:c0db:8541:640c/128
                                    Auf Verbindung
  1    306 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
 15    281 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
 35    286 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
===========================================================================
Ständige Routen:
 If Metrik Netzwerkziel             Gateway
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2a01:d0:ffff:385::1
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:470:1f0a:47f::1
===========================================================================

I couldnt ping the gateway 2a01:d0:ffff:385::1 but 2001:470:1f0a:47f::1 is working so I deleted the first gateway. But its still not working
Now my routing table is looking like this:

Code: [Select]
IPv6-Routentabelle
===========================================================================
Aktive Routen:
 If Metrik Netzwerkziel             Gateway
 35    286 ::/0                     2001:470:1f0a:47f::1
  1    306 ::1/128                  Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2001:470:1f0a:47f::/64   Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2001:470:1f0a:47f::2/128 Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2a01:d0:ffff:385::/64    Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2a01:d0:ffff:385::2/128  Auf Verbindung
 15    281 fe80::/64                Auf Verbindung
 35    286 fe80::/64                Auf Verbindung
 15    281 fe80::259a:be85:ad92:5e2c/128
                                    Auf Verbindung
 35    286 fe80::b810:c0db:8541:640c/128
                                    Auf Verbindung
  1    306 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
 15    281 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
 35    286 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
===========================================================================
Ständige Routen:
 If Metrik Netzwerkziel             Gateway
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:470:1f0a:47f::1
===========================================================================

Thanks ;)
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2012, 10:17:13 AM »

If you have native or other IPv6 connectivity, why did you even get a tunnel? Might want to flush out all your IPv6 configurations and pick one provider and only configure it.
Logged

umlab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2012, 10:51:45 AM »

I was testing some stuff with a native IPv6 connection but now Im trying to get a tunnel using an IPv4 connection.
I deleted the entire routing table and rebooted the PC, but it is still not working.
I also cant reach heise.de
Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>ping heise.de

Ping wird ausgeführt für heise.de [2a02:2e0:3fe:100::8] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.

Code: [Select]
IPv6-Routentabelle
===========================================================================
Aktive Routen:
 If Metrik Netzwerkziel             Gateway
 35    286 ::/0                     2001:470:1f0a:47f::1
  1    306 ::1/128                  Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2001:470:1f0a:47f::/64   Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2001:470:1f0a:47f::2/128 Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2a01:d0:ffff:385::/64    Auf Verbindung
 35    286 2a01:d0:ffff:385::2/128  Auf Verbindung
 35    286 fe80::/64                Auf Verbindung
 15    281 fe80::/64                Auf Verbindung
 15    281 fe80::259a:be85:ad92:5e2c/128
                                    Auf Verbindung
 35    286 fe80::b810:c0db:8541:640c/128
                                    Auf Verbindung
  1    306 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
 35    286 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
 15    281 ff00::/8                 Auf Verbindung
===========================================================================
Ständige Routen:
 If Metrik Netzwerkziel             Gateway
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:470:1f0a:47f::1
===========================================================================

Any ideas?
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2012, 03:45:29 PM »

You can verify the source address selection and routing by using tcpdump, wireshark, or equivalent to see what the actual packets send by your computer looks like, and on which interface they are send.
Logged

fiore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Question: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2012, 06:03:09 AM »

I have the same problem the ping ipv6.google. com does not go as its not working to ipv6.he.net

thanks
Logged

fiore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Question:ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2012, 06:12:41 AM »

so i reveive this response


C:\Windows\system32>ping ipv6.google.com

Ping wird ausgeführt für ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:4016:801::1010] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.

Ping-Statistik für 2a00:1450:4016:801::1010:
    Pakete: Gesendet = 4, Empfangen = 0, Verloren = 4   (100% Verlust)

C:\Windows\system32>tracert ipv6.google.com

Routenverfolgung zu ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:4016:801::1010] über maximal 30 Abschnitte:

  1     *        *        *     Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
  2     *        *        *     Zeitüberschreitung der Anforderung.
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
Re: only ipv6.google.com is not working...
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2012, 01:29:27 AM »

If you have native or other IPv6 connectivity, why did you even get a tunnel?
Is that even native? Looks like it is another tunnel provider.

Any ideas?
You are now down to just one default gateway. But you still have the 2a01:d0:ffff:385::2 address. So I am suspecting that address selection picks that as source address based on similarity with the address you are contacting. By the time it decides to route traffic through HE, it has probably already decided on an address, which HE is not going to accept.

This is why I suggested inspecting a packet dump. You can of course also verify this through tools like netstat, which will show you both endpoints of open connections. If you see a TCP connection between 2a01:d0:ffff:385::2 and 2a00:1450:4016:801::1012, then it confirms my theory. I think you are going to need a TCP connection, as I don't think netstat will show anything about active ping commands. For this particular debugging scenario installing wireshark or similar is likely going to provide more useful info than netstat.

I have the same problem
You also have two IPv6 in IPv4 tunnels and broken in such a way that some traffic gets routed through the wrong tunnel? Then I suggest you remove the configuration of one of the two tunnels, and stick with just one of them.
Logged