Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: ipv6  (Read 13940 times)

samuraiuros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
ipv6
« on: November 19, 2008, 02:26:05 AM »

Hello, i am trying to create a tunnel here, i am more new to IPV6 but i am interested in it and willing to learn..

I am behind a router, with DD-WRT v23 sp2..

Error: Your IPv4 endpoint is unreachable or unstable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked.

this is the problem, i had a ipv6 tunnel through TSPC + freenet , and its working fine, but i would like to try it here...

If i shut down my firewall on router it works, but  i would like to have that on.. So i am not sure how to enable my router to forward ICMP .. Anyone can help ?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1731
Re: ipv6
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2008, 04:04:51 AM »

Hello, i am trying to create a tunnel here, i am more new to IPV6 but i am interested in it and willing to learn..

I am behind a router, with DD-WRT v23 sp2..

Error: Your IPv4 endpoint is unreachable or unstable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked.

this is the problem, i had a ipv6 tunnel through TSPC + freenet , and its working fine, but i would like to try it here...

If i shut down my firewall on router it works, but  i would like to have that on.. So i am not sure how to enable my router to forward ICMP .. Anyone can help ?

Can you set a firewall rule to only allow ICMP from arc.he.net's hostname or IP? That'll fix that.
Logged

samuraiuros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ipv6
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 08:10:37 AM »

ok i have added iptables rule to my router, even though i accidently deleted rule 1 INPUT all and had to reboot..

it works now :) 

I have another question now

config for my linux

ifconfig sit0 up
ifconfig sit0 inet6 tunnel ::216.66.80.30
ifconfig sit1 up

sit1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device


i get this error :( 

why  ? and what this sit0 and sit 1 means..    otheriwse, i have eth0 which is my network card..

Logged

kriteknetworks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • aRDy Music
Re: ipv6
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2008, 09:24:08 AM »

Does your kernel have support for the sit device? Is the module loaded?
The sit device is a tunnel encapsulation device.
Logged

samuraiuros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ipv6
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2008, 10:39:36 AM »

Does your kernel have support for the sit device? Is the module loaded?
The sit device is a tunnel encapsulation device.

i can add sit0 device..   i have ubuntu 8.10 so i think i have supprot in kernel .. how do i check if the module is loaded ?
Logged

kriteknetworks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • aRDy Music
Re: ipv6
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2008, 10:46:13 AM »

lsmod as root.
Logged

samuraiuros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ipv6
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2008, 10:38:58 PM »

lsmod as root.

There is a bunch of data showing, i dont think there is sit module, there is tun though..

how do i load sit module then ?

Logged

kriteknetworks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • aRDy Music
Re: ipv6
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2008, 09:07:40 AM »

modprobe sit as root.
Logged

samuraiuros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ipv6
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2008, 01:37:24 AM »

modprobe sit as root.

Module                  Size  Used by
sit                    18436  0

i still get error

sudo ifconfig sit1 up
sit1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device



:(
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1731
Re: ipv6
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2008, 01:53:04 AM »

Just to clarify, this is trying to turn up the tunnel on the ddwrt device, or a linux host behind it? I only ask since I don't think it was made clear.

If a linux host behind your ddwrt device, have you tried a different kernel rev to see if you have the same issue? Compiled your own kernel?
Logged

samuraiuros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: ipv6
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2008, 04:39:40 AM »

Just to clarify, this is trying to turn up the tunnel on the ddwrt device, or a linux host behind it? I only ask since I don't think it was made clear.

If a linux host behind your ddwrt device, have you tried a different kernel rev to see if you have the same issue? Compiled your own kernel?

a linux host behind router device...  i am using ubuntu 8.10  , and i didnt compile my own kernel...

edit: few more people that have the same ubuntu, have the same issue and they cant add sit1, sit0 is possible..

through freenet, i ve been able to set a tunnel through tun device.. i ve added /64 to my eth0 device,  since i couldnt use sit1, not sure if i can do here the same, since i use TSPC there..


the problem is script here uses tun1 , and it doesnt work :(
« Last Edit: November 21, 2008, 04:42:12 AM by samuraiuros »
Logged