Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Guru test - NS AAAA records  (Read 6491 times)

kode54

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Guru test - NS AAAA records
« on: October 31, 2012, 07:06:38 PM »

I switched my DNS over to HE.net free DNS for AAAA reachability, and I accidentally added ns1.he.net to the list, which apparently has no AAAA record, so the Guru test seems to have failed. I have since removed that entry from my domain's records. How long will it take for that to flush out of the system before I can retake the test?

Specifically, I am getting:
Quote
Couldn't find any nameservers for kode54.net or no AAAA records found for NS
If this is a subdomain, edit to primary domain in the step #1 and retest

for my domain, kode54.net.
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: Guru test - NS AAAA records
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2012, 01:28:43 AM »

I switched my DNS over to HE.net free DNS for AAAA reachability, and I accidentally added ns1.he.net to the list, which apparently has no AAAA record, so the Guru test seems to have failed.
I think you are mistaken. You should add ns1.he.net as well. Having one out of many NS records point to an IPv4 only domain is just a way to help those rare resolvers, that break down on dual stack domains. The test should pass as long as one of the NS records point to a domain with a functional AAAA record.

I have since removed that entry from my domain's records. How long will it take for that to flush out of the system before I can retake the test?
Whatever TTL you used on the old records decides how long you have to wait. Typically that is 48 hours, and that's also what the TTL on your new records are.

Specifically, I am getting:
Quote
Couldn't find any nameservers for kode54.net or no AAAA records found for NS
If this is a subdomain, edit to primary domain in the step #1 and retest
I did not find any problems with your NS records. So that error message should go away as soon as the cached records expire. However the AAAA record points to a tunnel, which is down at the moment. So don't be surprised if by the time new NS records are fetched, you get a different error message.
Logged

kode54

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Guru test - NS AAAA records
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2012, 05:53:22 AM »

Ah, yes. The tunnel died because I forgot to add the cron job to ping outward every few minutes, to keep it alive, since the machine is behind a NAT.
Logged