Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Can't get it to work  (Read 13609 times)

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2012, 04:28:18 PM »

Can you please explain me how to use wireshark in order to find out if my router blocks protocol 41?
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2012, 12:05:08 PM »

How can i unblock protocol 41 ??
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2702
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2012, 12:37:41 PM »

You can ask google how to use wireshark

You're probably not going to be able to explicitly allow protocol 41...buy a new router
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2012, 05:39:33 AM »

So basically tunnelbroker is for routers that support ipv6 , and is used when isp don't support it .

And sixxs and gogo6 are kinda different , since i can get ipv6 connectivity with them . Not trying to compare or anything i just thought they offered the same services .

Any suggestion of cheap ipv6 modems?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2702
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2012, 12:43:45 PM »

Well, the only reason you'd be doing any sort of tunneling is if your ISP doesn't support it.

You can host a tunnel on this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127241
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #20 on: November 26, 2012, 06:54:45 AM »

Thanks for  the response , i was thinking about this one

http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DIR-601-Wireless-N-Home-Router/dp/B002VJL0OS/ref=zg_bs_300189_11


and this one

http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-E1200-Linksys-Wireless-N-Router/dp/B004T9RR6I/ref=zg_bs_300189_1

Will i be able to host a tunnel with these two ? The DIR-601 is very cheap whereas the Linksys is most popular router over at amazon . Any suggestions are welcome to decide .

 I need to change my current router not only because of no ipv6 support but because of the poor wireless coverage . I cant get wireless cover outside of my living room

Thanks again
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2702
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #21 on: November 26, 2012, 06:55:58 AM »

I have not used them.

I recommend the one I posted a link to
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1720
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #22 on: November 26, 2012, 09:44:24 AM »

If you get something like the 615 or 825, you can terminate the tunnel on the appliance. I've no experience with the 601. However since 2007, I haven't encountered one of their wired or wireless or combo NAT appliances that filtered Protocol 41 to hosts sitting behind them.
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #23 on: November 26, 2012, 10:00:17 AM »

I have not used them.

I recommend the one I posted a link to

I think i will buy the one you suggested from newegg http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127241

I hope this one is the correct hardware revision , because some revisions don't support ipv6 . I hope dd-wrt is easy to use with this router
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2702
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #24 on: November 26, 2012, 10:01:34 AM »

Why DD-WRT?  If your sole purpose for running DD-WRT is for IPv6 support, you don't need it with this router
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2012, 10:07:05 AM »

Yes you are right , i also searched if DD-WRT will help my current router to use ipv6 , but it is difficult and probably won't work .

Anyway i will search an alternative place than newegg because they only ship to U.S , i wish they stated the hardware revision in the details of the product , but in most sites like amazon , or ebay they don't state it . From their site d-link , only these products support ipv6 out of the box if someone is interested

http://resource.dlink.com/connect/d-link-ready-big-switch-ipv6/
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1720
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #26 on: November 26, 2012, 10:11:52 AM »

try Amazon
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #27 on: November 26, 2012, 01:25:22 PM »

Yes amazon has E1 revision i think this is the correct one with the ipv6 support
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't get it to work
« Reply #28 on: November 30, 2012, 01:19:58 PM »

I decide to try DD-WRT with Linksys wrt54gs , but still no luck . I still can't get ipv6 connectivity
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]