Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: "Time exceeded: Hop limit" problem  (Read 11883 times)

radek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
"Time exceeded: Hop limit" problem
« on: December 02, 2008, 04:48:06 AM »

Hi.

I've been using he service for a long time and I've never had any problems. Unfortunately, something broke a couple of days ago.

When I ifup my tunnel everything works fine:

ping6 -c 3 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(2001:4860:0:1001::68) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 2001:4860:0:1001::68: icmp_seq=1 ttl=60 time=51.3 ms
64 bytes from 2001:4860:0:1001::68: icmp_seq=2 ttl=60 time=50.1 ms
64 bytes from 2001:4860:0:1001::68: icmp_seq=3 ttl=60 time=48.5 ms

2001:470:1f0a:404::/64 via :: dev tunel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 dev eth2  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 dev eth0  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 dev eth1  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 via :: dev tunel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295
default via 2001:470:1f0a:404::1 dev tunel  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295

But after I add the subnet ip to tunnel interface the connection stops working.

ip a a 2001:470:98d2::1/128 dev tunel

ping6 -c 3 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(2001:4860:0:1001::68) 56 data bytes
--- ipv6.google.com ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 2016ms

2001:470:1f0a:404::/64 via :: dev tunel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295
2001:470:98d2::1 via :: dev tunel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 dev eth2  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 dev eth0  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 dev eth1  metric 256  mtu 1500 advmss 1440 hoplimit 4294967295
fe80::/64 via :: dev tunel  metric 256  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295
default via 2001:470:1f0a:404::1 dev tunel  metric 1024  mtu 1480 advmss 1420 hoplimit 4294967295

Also, ping from some other host:
PING 2001:470:98d2::1(2001:470:98d2::1) 56 data bytes
From 2001:470:0:69::2 icmp_seq=1 Time exceeded: Hop limit
From 2001:470:0:69::2 icmp_seq=2 Time exceeded: Hop limit
From 2001:470:0:69::2 icmp_seq=3 Time exceeded: Hop limit
From 2001:470:0:69::2 icmp_seq=4 Time exceeded: Hop limit
From 2001:470:0:69::2 icmp_seq=5 Time exceeded: Hop limit

--- 2001:470:98d2::1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, +5 errors, 100% packet loss, time 4049ms


I didn't touch my configuration. Any ideas how to solve the problem? Please don't laugh if it is obvious, I'm a noob :).

Greets.
Logged

kristiankrohn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: "Time exceeded: Hop limit" problem
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2008, 06:03:04 AM »

The route to your subnet somehow got lost. I had the same issue a few days ago (and like you in Frankfurt).

Just open a ticket with ipv6@he.net and they'll probably fix it in no time.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: "Time exceeded: Hop limit" problem
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2008, 10:23:53 AM »

Fixed per submitted trouble ticket.
Logged

radek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "Time exceeded: Hop limit" problem
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2008, 12:17:46 PM »

Thank you.
Logged