Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: need help with completeing test @ he.net certification program  (Read 2843 times)

Ahmed M. H. Alzaeem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24

hi all ,
ive reached step 3  in certification tests
================
Enthusiast

Congratulations, Explorer! Let's get you on to being an Enthusiast as quick as possible. Let's certify that you have the basics of IPv6 setup. To complete this test you will need
An IPv6 capable desktop
An IPv6 capable website/webserver
The Domain you provide below will be used in future DNS tests.


Help   Description   Data
Tell us what your IPv6 website is; FQDN please   http://  /  Use TLS
We will test grabbing the file   
Schedule the test   
===========================================


im not understandin above ???
now if i implemented an ipv6 IIS server or apache server , how will i provide the FQDN ??
does that mean i need to register that FQDN on global dns ?

plz help me in completing this step and go to the next one

with my best regards
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: need help with completeing test @ he.net certification program
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 08:23:57 AM »

That's correct.  You need to run IIS, Apache, NGIX, ect and have a publicly registered domain available.
Logged

Ahmed M. H. Alzaeem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: need help with completeing test @ he.net certification program
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 08:43:12 AM »

can i obtain free ?

regards
Logged

sdubois

  • President EBLUG
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Software Engineering Student
    • Roguehorse Open Source Solutions
Re: need help with completeing test @ he.net certification program
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2014, 10:33:07 PM »

Hmmm, never looked into a completely free TLD nor did I think they even existed.

The thing to keep in mind though is that the host has to have IPv6 capabilities, many still don't, so to press on in the cert program make sure to check this before jumping into anything. If you have IPv6 to the house, you might be able to XAMP something together but you would still need a registered domain to push over to your home Apache.
Logged
Scott DuBois
BSIT Software Engineering
President EBLUG
Freenode: Roguehorse