Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: max speed allowed ?  (Read 3313 times)

kgersen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
max speed allowed ?
« on: July 28, 2014, 04:30:57 PM »

Hi & thx for this service.

I'm using it occasionally from home to test some software behavior.

My home Internet connection bandwidth is a capped at 1Gbps/200Mbps (FTTH) and I noticed when doing some speed tests that the HE IPv6 Tunnel is capped a little above 100Mbps/100Mbps (105ish actually).

I was wondering if this was on purpose to avoid abuse/overuse since it's a free service or if there is an issue on my side limiting the bandwidth ?

The tunnel is made using a dedicated Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite 3 router ( http://www.ubnt.com/edgemax/edgerouter-lite/ ).
Logged

r1ske

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: max speed allowed ?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2014, 09:38:29 AM »

The EdgeRouter's hardware offload does not handle tunnels (except PPPoE), so that traffic is all hitting the CPU. It's more likely that that's the bottleneck you're seeing than any throttling on HE's end.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2726
Re: max speed allowed ?
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2014, 10:09:57 AM »

I am not aware of a speed cap on any tunnel
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: max speed allowed ?
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 10:42:22 AM »

It is shared bandwidth, so you'll have what is available at the time. Of course pushing the limits of the connection sort of ruins it for everyone else, so be a kind netizen.
Logged

kgersen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: max speed allowed ?
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 02:40:20 PM »

I've tried with other devices and routers. Same results. Even when doing the tunnel with a high-end computer.

The EdgeRouter's cpu isn't very high when doing the speed test.

May be it depends on which  tunnel server I use. I've tried with Paris, Berlin and Amsterdam. None of them go above 100Mbps. Couldn't test London. Not working.

"shared bandwidth" doesn't produce this kind of behavior. Since it's always stable at the cap there is a limitation somewhere.

I'll just assume there is a cap somewhere at 100M/100M that's enough for my software tests. May be it's just the peering/transit (or some throttling) between my ISP and HE (i'm near Paris in France, a traceroute to HE's tunnel server in Paris goes thru London...fun fun).
Logged

alexrichards

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: max speed allowed ?
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2014, 03:48:09 PM »

While echoing what broquea said about being a nice netizen, I recall a transfer on a VPS of mine in Manchester, UK using the lon1 tserve. I remember as I was able to hit ~380Mbit/s (47.5MB/s), which surprised me if I'm honest.

Unless something has changed (this was early last year), or some tserves are configured differently, I doubt there's any kind of limit, at least at the speed you're seeing.
Logged
Enta.net ADSL on a very long line :(