• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

Tunnel Broker now works from Router, but not Windows 7 PC

Started by srappleyea, November 01, 2014, 12:03:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

srappleyea

Hello all,

So first, a little background.  I am a student, trying to help develop a Networking lab exercise for college students around IPv6.  I am working with a Windows 7 PC, which is attached via ethernet to a MikroTik router (the same make and model being used by the students).  That router is itself attached via ethernet to an ActionTec router / dsl modem that services my entire local network. 

After some considerable trial and error, and putting my MikroTik router in the DMZ of the ActionTec router, I am now able to ping IPv6 addresses from within my MikroTik RouterOS by using Hurricane Electric's tunnel broker.  Hooray!  Success!  Except that I still can't access any ipv6 address from my PC.  IPv6 IS enabled on my PC, and I can successfully ping the local IPv6 address of my MikroTik router from my PC.

Does anyone know why the tunnel works from my router but not my PC?

mattwilson9090

Where are you getting the IPv6 addresses you are assigning the PC? You should be assigning them from your your routed /64 or /48.
Matt Wilson

cholzhauer

Furthermore, what address did you assign to the inside interface of your router?

srappleyea

I'm set up with DHCP from my ActionTec router, so I haven't actually assigned any ip addresses.  Are you saying I need to remove DHCP service from my "outside" router and use my MikroTik router to provide IP addresses?

cholzhauer

I'm sort of surprised that device does dhcpv6.  Even so, you need slaac to get routing info

Manually assign an address out of your routed /64 to the inside interface of your router and give an address in the same subnet to your pc.  We can move to dynamic stuff after everything works

mattwilson9090