Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: What IP's do i use on my network?  (Read 8384 times)

lynxus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
What IP's do i use on my network?
« on: January 19, 2009, 03:54:13 AM »

What IP's do i use on my network?

Hi Guys,
I have this setup

(HE - 2001:470:1f08:795::1/64 ) <------> ( Me - 2001:470:1f08:795::2/64 )

the link works and i can ping googlev6 However what IP's do i use on my network?

Evidently i dont want nat i want all machines to have internet ips.

So i was assuming id use 2001:470:1f08:795::3/64 - 2001:470:1f08:795::4/64  etc..
But these dont seem to work.

Does anyone have a link to a good doc that shows how to set this up where all IP's internally are internet routed? ( inside the range HE has allocated. )

Maybe im just completely misunderstanding this..

Thanks

-L
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: What IP's do i use on my network?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 06:41:20 AM »

For your LAN, you use either:

Routed /48:       2001:470:9233::/48  (broken out into /64 allocations per LAN interface)
Routed /64:    2001:470:1f09:795::/64

Logged

lynxus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: What IP's do i use on my network?
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2009, 06:58:53 AM »

OK,
Ive got:
2001:470:9235::/48
Routed.

How do i break this up and know what IP's to use on it?

Could i use:
2001:470:9235:1::/64
2001:470:9235:2::/64
2001:470:9235:3::/64

I dont usppose you know of a page /site that has this info easy to understand?
I just cant seem to get to grips with the way subnetting is done on v6.


Thanks

Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: What IP's do i use on my network?
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2009, 12:35:48 PM »

That is the breakdown exactly as you would do it. You skipped 2001:470:9235:0::/64 is all. You'll put ::1 of each /64 on the interface you want to provide that range over, so:

2001:470:9235::1/64   (don't need that zero since it's all zeroes until you specify the interface's address)
2001:470:9235:1::1/64
2001:470:9235:2::1/64
etc...

OK,
Ive got:
2001:470:9235::/48
Routed.

How do i break this up and know what IP's to use on it?

Could i use:
2001:470:9235:1::/64
2001:470:9235:2::/64
2001:470:9235:3::/64

I dont usppose you know of a page /site that has this info easy to understand?
I just cant seem to get to grips with the way subnetting is done on v6.


Thanks


Logged

lynxus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: What IP's do i use on my network?
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2009, 12:23:58 AM »

Thanks!

What im trying to do is:

Your end -
My router fa0/0 -
My router fa0/1 -
   |
   |
Switch
   |               |
Host        Host

But im having issues understanding how to number these up.

:)
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: What IP's do i use on my network?
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2009, 12:44:48 AM »

So from scratch, do:
Code: [Select]
conf t
int fa0/1
ipv6 enable
ipv6 add 2001:470:9235::1/64
end

That should get the address onto the LAN facing interface. And as long as you don't put "ipv6 nd suppress-ra", hosts on that LAN segment should auto-configure themselves. Do the same for every other LAN interface on the router, except with a different /64 allocation (2001:470:9235:1::1/64, 2001:470:9235:2::1/64, etc...).
Logged

lynxus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: What IP's do i use on my network?
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2009, 01:01:34 AM »

Oh hell yeah!

You da man. ( Im assuming )

This is starting to make a bit more sense now!

Thanks muchly!

-L


Logged