Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IPV6 Centos 5 not working  (Read 10116 times)

randall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
IPV6 Centos 5 not working
« on: February 16, 2009, 07:16:47 AM »

Hey Guys I had ipv6 working in the past but I decited to get it working again I can't seem to ping6 or traceroute6 anything.
I am using a Linksys WRT150N v1.1 with Firmware DD-WRT v24-sp1 (07/27/08) std. this is the script I am using for my ipv6 tunnel.

ifconfig sit0 up
ifconfig sit0 inet6 tunnel ::209.51.161.58
ifconfig sit1 up
ifconfig sit1 inet6 add 2001:470:5:4::1/128
route -A inet6 add ::/0 dev sit1

This is what happens when I ping6 ipv6.google.com
[root@cntserver ~]# ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(2001:4860:0:2001::68) 56 data bytes

it just sits there and have to cancel it.

this is what happens when I traceroute6
 traceroute6 ipv6.google.com
traceroute to ipv6.google.com (2001:4860:0:2001::68), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
and it is the same all the way down.

this is what my ifconfig says

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0C:29:10:E5:62
          inet addr:192.168.1.6  Bcast:192.168.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe10:e562/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2489 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2731 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:257622 (251.5 KiB)  TX bytes:374323 (365.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:17 Base address:0x2024

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:2313 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2313 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:4061924 (3.8 MiB)  TX bytes:4061924 (3.8 MiB)

sit0      Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: ::192.168.1.6/96 Scope:Compat
          inet6 addr: ::127.0.0.1/96 Scope:Unknown
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

sit1      Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:5:4::1/128 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c0a8:106/64 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:526 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:60904 (59.4 KiB)


any help would be great thank you.

Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1695
Re: IPV6 Centos 5 not working
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2009, 07:26:13 AM »

Try:

route -A inet6 add 2000::/3 dev sit1

instead.
Logged

randall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IPV6 Centos 5 not working
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2009, 07:37:23 AM »

I used
route -A inet6 add 2000::/3 dev sit1
and I still get the same problem.

Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1695
Re: IPV6 Centos 5 not working
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2009, 07:44:10 AM »

Also, try to use /64 as that is the size block being used and not /128.
Logged

randall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IPV6 Centos 5 not working
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2009, 08:02:14 AM »

ok this is what my script looks like now

ifconfig sit0 up
ifconfig sit0 inet6 tunnel ::209.51.161.58
ifconfig sit1 up
ifconfig sit1 inet6 add 2001:470:5:4::1/64
route -A inet6 add 2000::/3 dev sit1

still getting the same isssue
Logged

randall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: IPV6 Centos 5 not working
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2009, 04:11:53 AM »

Ok fixed it but I don't know why it worked. I switched my ipv4 address to something else in tunnelbroker.net config page then changed it back. now it seems to be working great. thanks for your help.
Logged