Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Tunnel on Mac OS X 10.12.6  (Read 336 times)

jshardlo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Tunnel on Mac OS X 10.12.6
« on: September 16, 2017, 06:16:48 AM »

I set up a tunnel on tunnel broker.net some time ago and it used to work fine. Having tried to use it now on an upgraded version of Mac OS X I find it doesn't fully work anymore. I can still ping6 and use other command line utilities such as ssh to connect over IPv6 but browsing from Safari or Firefox doesn't work.

So for example I can ping6 ipv6.google.com...

Shardy:~ john$ ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2001:470:1f1c:d3f::2 --> 2404:6800:4001:80d::200e
16 bytes from 2404:6800:4001:80d::200e, icmp_seq=0 hlim=53 time=425.944 ms
16 bytes from 2404:6800:4001:80d::200e, icmp_seq=1 hlim=53 time=426.187 ms
16 bytes from 2404:6800:4001:80d::200e, icmp_seq=2 hlim=53 time=426.602 ms
16 bytes from 2404:6800:4001:80d::200e, icmp_seq=3 hlim=53 time=426.163 ms
^C
--- ipv6.l.google.com ping6 statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/std-dev = 425.944/426.224/426.602/0.238 ms

But if I try to go to http://ipv6.google.com I get an error code:

Safari can't find the server

or

Server not found (in Firefox).

Any idea how to resolve this?

The gif0 interface looks like this:

gif0: flags=8051<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
   tunnel inet 192.168.0.103 --> 216.66.88.98
   inet6 fe80::aa20:66ff:fe29:bd76%gif0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
   inet6 2001:470:1f1c:d3f::2 --> 2001:470:1f1c:d3f::1 prefixlen 128
   nd6 options=201<PERFORMNUD,DAD>


Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2591
    • View Profile
Re: Tunnel on Mac OS X 10.12.6
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 05:39:44 AM »

It almost sounds like it could be a MTU issue?
Logged

divad27182

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Tunnel on Mac OS X 10.12.6
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 10:34:19 AM »

It sounds like a DNS problem to me.  "not found" and "can't find" seem indicative.  I would expect a different error if it can't reach the server.

Did you change your DNS as part of the setup?  and if so, did you forget to restart the browser?

Was the browser started when you only had IPv4, so that it is only querying for IPv4 addresses?

Logged