Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Unable to route  (Read 7002 times)

kingsly

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Unable to route
« on: March 15, 2008, 09:39:20 AM »

Signed up for tunnel a short while back.. and following the instructions on the site, I am able to ping the end point of the tunnel but can't ping any other hosts.

Code: [Select]
root@eldorado ~ # ping6  ipv6.chat.freenode.net
connect: Network is unreachable
root@eldorado ~ # traceroute6  ipv6.chat.freenode.net
traceroute to ipv6.chat.freenode.net (2001:1418:13:1::25), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
connect: Network is unreachable

Pinging the end point ..

Code: [Select]
root@eldorado ~ # ping6 -c3 2001:470:1f06:468::1
PING 2001:470:1f06:468::1(2001:470:1f06:468::1) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 2001:470:1f06:468::1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=26.7 ms
64 bytes from 2001:470:1f06:468::1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=26.6 ms
64 bytes from 2001:470:1f06:468::1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=26.3 ms

--- 2001:470:1f06:468::1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 26.372/26.603/26.782/0.254 ms, pipe 2

Strangely trying to ping the same end point from the Connectivity Test page fails..

Code: [Select]
PING 2001:470:1f06:468::1(2001:470:1f06:468::1) 56 data bytes

--- 2001:470:1f06:468::1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4053ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 79.858/79.979/80.096/0.089 ms

Does it take time for the routing to be effected ? or is there something wrong with my setup ?

ifconfig output ...

Code: [Select]
he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4 
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f06:468::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::266a:62ca/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:30 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:3472 (3.3 KiB)  TX bytes:3304 (3.2 KiB)

route -A inet6

Code: [Select]
root@eldorado ~ # route -A inet6
Kernel IPv6 routing table
Destination                                 Next Hop                                Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
2001:470:1f06:468::/64                      *                                       U     256    34       0 he-ipv6
fe80::/64                                   *                                       U     256    0        0 eth0   
fe80::/64                                   *                                       U     256    0        0 he-ipv6
*/0                                         *                                       U     1024   0        0 he-ipv6
localhost6.localdomain6/128                 *                                       U     0      4        1 lo     
kingsly-pt.tunnel.tserv4.nyc4.ipv6.he.net/128 *                                       U     0      34       1 lo     
fe80::266a:62ca/128                         *                                       U     0      0        1 lo     
fe80::216:3eff:fe3d:a021/128                *                                       U     0      0        1 lo     
ff00::/8                                    *                                       U     256    0        0 eth0   
ff00::/8                                    *                                       U     256    0        0 he-ipv6

Any pointers appreciated! Thanks!
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: Unable to route
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 11:30:29 AM »

FYI, that connectivity test you pasted was for our side of the tunnel, and it was successful if you look at it again.

I'm able to ping your side of the tunnel from only the tunnel-server you connect to but not from anywhere else. Everything on our side looks to be configured correctly. I can reach other users on the same tunnel-server without issue. If you used our example configs, everything should be configured correctly.

The only time I've encountered such a similar situation was on my personal colo with native IPv6 + latest OpenVZ kernel. After upgrading to the latest and greatest of their stable kernel, my IPv6 routing (while looking correct) stopped working properly. I went back to the previously running stable OpenVZ kernel, and everything worked again.

So off the top of my head:
- make sure you don't have any funky ip6tables rules
- paste the commands you used to turn up the tunnel (just so I can verify everything looks good)
Logged

kingsly

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Unable to route
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2008, 11:58:36 AM »

I got it working,

RHEL/CentOS(5) have a kernel bug that affects the default route for ipv6 https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=243526

Adding an extra route manually fixed the problem
Code: [Select]
ip route add 2000::/3 dev he-ipv6
Sorry my bad about interpreting the ping results... I was expecting to see per packet output.

Thanks for the service and your time!
Logged