Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine  (Read 4967 times)

kurai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« on: February 18, 2010, 11:11:33 AM »

so standard ipv6 connectivity tests work:
Code: [Select]
gdunn@mini9:/home/gdunn$ ping6 -c 4 www.kame.net
PING www.kame.net(orange.kame.net) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from orange.kame.net: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=201 ms
64 bytes from orange.kame.net: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=197 ms
64 bytes from orange.kame.net: icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=196 ms
64 bytes from orange.kame.net: icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=195 ms

--- www.kame.net ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 195.771/197.795/201.381/2.158 ms

gdunn@mini9:/home/gdunn$ ping6 -c 4 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(vx-in-x68.1e100.net) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from vx-in-x68.1e100.net: icmp_seq=1 ttl=51 time=663 ms
64 bytes from vx-in-x68.1e100.net: icmp_seq=2 ttl=51 time=251 ms
64 bytes from vx-in-x68.1e100.net: icmp_seq=3 ttl=51 time=252 ms
64 bytes from vx-in-x68.1e100.net: icmp_seq=4 ttl=51 time=252 ms

--- ipv6.google.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 251.628/354.896/663.700/178.289 ms

But when I try the certification web page it shows me an ipv4 address. I'm connecting currently from different network than where my ipv6 tunnel.

This is an ubuntu 9.10 machine, with miredo installed from apt.
Code: [Select]
gdunn@mini9:~$ miredo -V
Miredo: Teredo IPv6 tunneling software 1.1.5 (i486-pc-linux-gnu)
 built Nov  6 2008 on palmer.buildd (i486-pc-linux-gnu)
Configured with: /build/buildd/miredo-1.1.5/./configure  '--build=i486-linux-gnu' '--prefix=/usr' '--includedir=${prefix}/include' '--mandir=${prefix}/share/man' '--infodir=${prefix}/share/info' '--sysconfdir=/etc' '--localstatedir=/var' '--libexecdir=${prefix}/lib/miredo' '--disable-maintainer-mode' '--disable-dependency-tracking' '--srcdir=.' '--enable-static' '--disable-shared' '--disable-binreloc' '--enable-miredo-user' '--disable-sample-conf' '--with-Judy' '--disable-assert' 'build_alias=i486-linux-gnu' 'CC=cc' 'CFLAGS=-g -O2 -g -Wall -O2' 'LDFLAGS=-Wl,-z,defs -Wl,--as-needed' 'CPPFLAGS='
Written by Rémi Denis-Courmont.

Copyright © 2004-2006 Rémi Denis-Courmont
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.
There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or
FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1731
Re: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 11:28:41 AM »

I believe that with dual-stacked sites, the browser will default to IPv4 if using 6to4 and teredo.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 11:31:16 AM »

Quote
I believe that with dual-stacked sites, the browser will default to IPv4 if using 6to4 and teredo.

I can confirm.

You would need to test with an IPv6 only site like ipv6.google.com
Logged

kurai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2010, 12:05:22 PM »

Quote
I believe that with dual-stacked sites, the browser will default to IPv4 if using 6to4 and teredo.

I can confirm.

You would need to test with an IPv6 only site like ipv6.google.com


So there's no way to access the certification page unless I'm in my tunnelbroker subnet?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2724
Re: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 12:11:48 PM »

There might be an IPv6 only part of it...I dunno.

But, I guess the question is why are you using Teredo instead of getting a tunnel set up through HE?
Logged

kurai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2010, 12:17:00 PM »

There might be an IPv6 only part of it...I dunno.

But, I guess the question is why are you using Teredo instead of getting a tunnel set up through HE?

Oh, well, I have an HE tunnel at home, but I'm not at home right now and wanted to look at the certification pages.

Logged

mtindle

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
Re: Accessing validate-explorer.php from a miredo-connected machine
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2010, 04:27:01 PM »

I've actually had the opposite problem where I go to an IPv6 enabled site, yet I want to connect via IPv4 because of IP restrictions (.htaccess deny/allow without v6 entries.) 

You can short circuit the browser/os default preferred method by putting a static entry in your hosts file.  Obviously it's not an ideal solution, but it works for temporary connectivity problems to specific sites.
Logged