Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Disable ipv4 when surfing through ipv6 tunnel  (Read 5414 times)

Flaneuren

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Disable ipv4 when surfing through ipv6 tunnel
« on: January 22, 2011, 12:58:51 PM »

Hi,

here is a question from a n00bie. I just registered at HE, created a regular tunnel to my Win7-machine which is connected straight to a usb GSM internet - no router, firewall,switch, etc in between. The ipv4 address I get is mine and only mine. And I switched off the windows firewall too (please dont try to hack me). Then I pasted the windows tunnel commands into CMD.  It works fine, I can surf in to ipv6.google.com, and their ipv6 address shows up nicely in green at the bottom of my firefox (using the ipv6 plugin).

But if I surf into an old site like "http://www.whatsmyip.org/", my ipv4 address still shows up. Is it possible to disable that address, so that I only surf with this new ipv6 address? The reason for that is that I want to test how a few web sites behave if someone (like me) from the ipv6 world surfs in? I want to see if these sites are reachable at all...

/Fl


Logged

comptech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Disable ipv4 when surfing through ipv6 tunnel
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2011, 02:37:07 PM »

Since you're running the 6in4 tunnel to your device, disabling IPv4 would disconnect your tunnel and take down your IPv6 connectivity too.  I haven't tried it with an air-card though, so I don't know for sure what would happen.
Logged

ngjvjRbYM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Disable ipv4 when surfing through ipv6 tunnel
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2011, 03:53:10 PM »

You can test IPv6 support for a website by checking the aaaa record.
IPv6 not Supported:nslookup -q=AAAA google.com

IPv6 supported: nslookup -q=AAAA ipv6.google.com
AAAA IPv6 address = 2a00:1450:8001::63

Or you can use http://ipv6-test.com/validate.php
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Disable ipv4 when surfing through ipv6 tunnel
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2011, 05:16:31 PM »

No.

Like comptech said, you're running 6in4...you need v4 to carry your v6 traffic.

Are you sure your tunnel is up?  whatismyipv6.come should give you an ipv6 address if it's working
Logged