Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?  (Read 8310 times)

etuardu

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« on: February 12, 2011, 03:11:52 PM »

Hi,
maybe I'm a bit off topic here, but I'm pretty enthusiast about Hurrican Electric and it's a pity that I can't benefit this service on ircnet, which is my regular irc network since years.
Every server I try gives me "Unhautorized connection" or something like this.
Does someone know some IRCnet ipv6 server which allows connections from HE, or where to request iline for such connections?
Thank you!
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 05:57:27 AM by etuardu »
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2011, 03:47:05 PM »

AFAIK HE doesn't block IRC.  Freenode works fine via IPv6 for me.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2706
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 03:49:41 PM »

Jim's right...HE isn't blocking anything

Have you seen this?

http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=1462.0
Logged

etuardu

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 06:06:53 AM »

AFAIK HE doesn't block IRC.

I'm not complaining about the HE policy: I can indeed establish a connection with those irc servers, but once connected I get rejected. I guess they're not accepting HE's ipv6 ranges.
I know one might ask an "i-line" (or "i:line") to an IRC server in order to be allowed to connect to it with a certain ip, and I was asking if someone knows where to do that for IRCnet.

Freenode works fine via IPv6 for me.

It works fine for me too, but as I said I'd like to connect to IRCnet, which is a different irc network.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 07:27:28 AM by etuardu »
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 760
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2011, 11:52:37 AM »

Aside:  Would it be worth it for HE to run an IRC relay server at each tunnel server* (and have tunnel users connect to it directly instead of some random IRC server) as a bandwidth-saving measure?

* - At each tunnel server location where there's signficant IRC traffic, at least.  The server program need not be on the tunnel server itself as long as it's "close by."
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2011, 12:23:38 PM »

Bandwidth conservation on the tservs isn't necessary, and we aren't planning on providing any more IRC servers/services than we already do with the efnet server we absorbed from lightning.net
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 12:25:13 PM by broquea »
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2011, 01:26:22 PM »

I suggest looking at the motd for that IRC net to see if there's instructions, or look for a web site.
Logged

juhovh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2011, 03:34:03 AM »

The original poster probably already solved his case, but there might be other people like me who still want to connect to IRCnet. After sending several emails I got in contact with an operator of eu.irc6.net and got the following reply:

Quote
I think whole HE is filtered on eu.irc6.net due the constant abuse and poor response from HE. Those filters are then converted to K:lines and automatically shared to *.se, *.nl and some *.ee-servers. I cant be 100% sure but I doubt that K:line is not adopted from IRC6-filters. Propably they have set K:line for same reasons we set the filter. But we at IRC6 have a way to make exceptions for the filter which blocks whole HE. So just as a tip, point your browser to http://www.irc6.net (ipv6 only) and go request an I:line / exception for your block. I doubt it will restore your access to *.ee but at least eu.irc6.net should work for you after that.

So basically HE is filtered, because it is very easy and fast to get an IPv6 block with reverse DNS and everything, which might attract DNS abuse from people who think domain.names.like.this.are.fun.com. People who know how to behave shouldn't have a problem to get an I-line from irc6.net, something I will test now.
Logged

juhovh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2011, 03:58:49 AM »

People who know how to behave shouldn't have a problem to get an I-line from irc6.net, something I will test now.

It took them almost a month, but I got an I-line and at least eu.irc6.net works perfectly now. I can recommend applying for people who are really interested in getting to IRCnet.
Logged

antifuchs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2011, 10:40:51 AM »

It took them almost a month, but I got an I-line and at least eu.irc6.net works perfectly now. I can recommend applying for people who are really interested in getting to IRCnet.

I was just attempting to do this, and the link they sent me in their initial validation email gives me an error message saying "Change authorisation failed: Unknown email address". Did that step work for you? If so, I guess I'll keep retrying.
Logged

juhovh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IRCnet access, where to request i-line?
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2011, 07:11:46 AM »

It took them almost a month, but I got an I-line and at least eu.irc6.net works perfectly now. I can recommend applying for people who are really interested in getting to IRCnet.

I was just attempting to do this, and the link they sent me in their initial validation email gives me an error message saying "Change authorisation failed: Unknown email address". Did that step work for you? If so, I guess I'll keep retrying.

I do not remember getting an error message like that, hope everything worked for you...
Logged