Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: tracepath on windows?  (Read 17853 times)

Mangix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
tracepath on windows?
« on: August 22, 2011, 01:18:48 AM »

anyone know where to find a tracepath program that works with ipv6?

the reason i ask is because i'm using pppoe which uses an mtu of 1492 and 6to4 further reduces the mtu size by 20 which makes a total of 1472? i want to verify that this is the mtu that's actually used when visiting websites that are ipv6 enabled.

edit: btw can someone explain why i can traceroute he.net but can't do so using the -R switch. can't do it with any other ipv6 site either.

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Mangix>tracert -6 he.net

Tracing route to he.net [2001:470:0:76::2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  2002:4b3d:6de9:1::1
  2   112 ms    35 ms    25 ms  2002:c058:6301::1
  3    57 ms    43 ms    25 ms  gige-g4-12.core1.lax1.he.net [2001:470:0:14e::1]

  4    65 ms    32 ms    35 ms  10gigabitethernet7-4.core1.fmt2.he.net [2001:470
:0:18d::1]
  5    55 ms   126 ms    52 ms  gige-g4-18.core1.fmt1.he.net [2001:470:0:2d::1]

  6    67 ms    33 ms    33 ms  he.net [2001:470:0:76::2]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Mangix>tracert -R he.net

Tracing route to he.net [2001:470:0:76::2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms     1 ms    <1 ms  2002:4b3d:6de9:1::1
  2    42 ms    88 ms    42 ms  2002:c058:6301::1
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2011, 01:22:56 AM by Mangix »
Logged

jbwisemo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: tracepath on windows?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2011, 11:54:46 PM »

The -R option presumably uses various advanced IPv6 header flags which may/should be blocked by firewalls as a precaution against misuse for address spoofing etc.  (I don't know if blocking those specific flag values is overzealous, but it is likely what you see).

To test the ability to send packets of varying lengths from Windows, the options to do this are "hidden" in the ping command

  ping -6 -l 1420 -i 1 someaddr.example

Gradually increase the -i option for each hop, note that some Windows versions will report the wrong IP in "TTL exceeded" replies.

Note that ping will silently fragment IPv6 packets for you (You can set the -f option for IPv4, but not IPv6, at least on Win2003).
Logged

jrocha

  • Network Architect
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: tracepath on windows?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2011, 04:55:16 PM »

You might try WinMTR: http://winmtr.net/
Logged

BrushJohn

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: tracepath on windows?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2011, 01:57:07 AM »

Hey have a look at this also  http://www.nscan.org/index.cgi?index=tracert.
I think it will work for you.
Logged