Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Stuck on Guru Test  (Read 3522 times)

brontide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Stuck on Guru Test
« on: March 28, 2013, 05:20:48 AM »

It's possible that my previous DNS had a long TTL, but I've been waiting for around 48 hours with no change in how the test completes.  Is this a TTL issue or have I done something wrong?

opus2:~ ew2193$ dig ns milosmeadow.com

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> ns milosmeadow.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 56860
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 8

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;milosmeadow.com.      IN   NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
milosmeadow.com.   1800   IN   NS   ns4.he.net.
milosmeadow.com.   1800   IN   NS   ns2.he.net.
milosmeadow.com.   1800   IN   NS   ns3.he.net.
milosmeadow.com.   1800   IN   NS   ns5.he.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.he.net.      415   IN   A   216.218.131.2
ns2.he.net.      415   IN   AAAA   2001:470:200::2
ns3.he.net.      415   IN   A   216.218.132.2
ns3.he.net.      415   IN   AAAA   2001:470:300::2
ns4.he.net.      415   IN   A   216.66.1.2
ns4.he.net.      415   IN   AAAA   2001:470:400::2
ns5.he.net.      415   IN   A   216.66.80.18
ns5.he.net.      415   IN   AAAA   2001:470:500::2

;; Query time: 126 msec
;; SERVER: 169.226.1.103#53(169.226.1.103)
;; WHEN: Thu Mar 28 08:16:55 2013
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 287

opus2:~ ew2193$ dig aaaa ns4.he.net

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> aaaa ns4.he.net
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 54323
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 5, ADDITIONAL: 8

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns4.he.net.         IN   AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns4.he.net.      7200   IN   AAAA   2001:470:400::2

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
he.net.         401   IN   NS   ns5.he.net.
he.net.         401   IN   NS   ns4.he.net.
he.net.         401   IN   NS   ns2.he.net.
he.net.         401   IN   NS   ns1.he.net.
he.net.         401   IN   NS   ns3.he.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.he.net.      401   IN   A   216.218.130.2
ns2.he.net.      401   IN   A   216.218.131.2
ns2.he.net.      401   IN   AAAA   2001:470:200::2
ns3.he.net.      401   IN   A   216.218.132.2
ns3.he.net.      401   IN   AAAA   2001:470:300::2
ns4.he.net.      401   IN   A   216.66.1.2
ns5.he.net.      401   IN   A   216.66.80.18
ns5.he.net.      401   IN   AAAA   2001:470:500::2

;; Query time: 66 msec
;; SERVER: 169.226.1.103#53(169.226.1.103)
;; WHEN: Thu Mar 28 08:17:09 2013
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 306

opus2:~ ew2193$ dig aaaa milosmeadow.com @2001:470:400::2

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> aaaa milosmeadow.com @2001:470:400::2
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3793
;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;milosmeadow.com.      IN   AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
milosmeadow.com.   3600   IN   AAAA   2001:470:7:eaa::8080

;; Query time: 26 msec
;; SERVER: 2001:470:400::2#53(2001:470:400::2)
;; WHEN: Thu Mar 28 08:17:37 2013
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 61

Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
Re: Stuck on Guru Test
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 06:23:51 AM »

I did not notice any problems with your DNS records. But doesn't the test also require you to have a server running at the IPv6 address the DNS records point to?
Logged

brontide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Stuck on Guru Test
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 06:30:27 AM »

I did not notice any problems with your DNS records. But doesn't the test also require you to have a server running at the IPv6 address the DNS records point to?

 ???  Somehow managed to both put in the wrong prefix AND the address fell off the server.

opus2:~ ew2193$ ping6 2001:470:7:eaa::8080
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2620:89:8000:74:cabc:c8ff:fe9a:3475 --> 2001:470:7:eaa::8080
^C
--- 2001:470:7:eaa::8080 ping6 statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

opus2:~ ew2193$ ping6 2001:470:8:eaa::8080
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2620:89:8000:74:cabc:c8ff:fe9a:3475 --> 2001:470:8:eaa::8080
^C
--- 2001:470:8:eaa::8080 ping6 statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

opus2:~ ew2193$ ping6 2001:470:8:eaa::8080
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2620:89:8000:74:cabc:c8ff:fe9a:3475 --> 2001:470:8:eaa::8080
16 bytes from 2001:470:8:eaa::8080, icmp_seq=0 hlim=54 time=49.864 ms
16 bytes from 2001:470:8:eaa::8080, icmp_seq=1 hlim=54 time=51.329 ms
^C
--- 2001:470:8:eaa::8080 ping6 statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/std-dev = 49.864/50.596/51.329/0.732 ms


So I'll give it another hour for those TTL's to time out and give it another try, thanks for another set of eyes!
Logged

brontide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Stuck on Guru Test
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 09:23:02 AM »

Thanks, don't know what exactly, but updated the records, waited and I'm golden with Guru and Sage levels!!!

Logged