Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Professional - reverse DNS test  (Read 9660 times)

jamesleavers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Professional - reverse DNS test
« on: December 09, 2008, 06:10:31 AM »

Hi,

I am getting the message "Your MX does not appear to have working RDNS" when I click the button - however, I've tested from an external connection and it seems to work:

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;jamesleavers.co.uk.      IN   MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
jamesleavers.co.uk.   7200   IN   MX   0 v6-mx.jamesleavers.co.uk.

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;v6-mx.jamesleavers.co.uk.   IN   AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
v6-mx.jamesleavers.co.uk. 7200   IN   AAAA   2001:470:906a:1:20c:29ff:fec8:b4f

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;f.4.b.0.8.c.e.f.f.f.9.2.c.0.2.0.1.0.0.0.a.6.0.9.0.7.4.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa. IN PTR

;; ANSWER SECTION:
f.4.b.0.8.c.e.f.f.f.9.2.c.0.2.0.1.0.0.0.a.6.0.9.0.7.4.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa. 259200 IN PTR   v6-mx.jamesleavers.co.uk.

I have also run the RIPE delegation checker (http://www.db.ripe.net/cgi-bin/delcheck/delcheck2.cgi) for a.6.0.9.0.7.4.0.1.0.0.2.ip6.arpa which is able to retrieve the PTR records for my nameserver addresses.

So have I missed something here? What is the test trying to find?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: Professional - reverse DNS test
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 04:16:16 PM »

Something odd with the caching NS. I do a dig +trace on your IPv6 address and it works, but without the +trace it fails.
However using "host" + your IPv6 address works.
Right now the test uses dig output, so we're looking into the caching NS issue.
Logged

jamesleavers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Professional - reverse DNS test
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2008, 04:50:06 PM »

Thanks! It may not be relevant, but the AAAA record for v6-mx was changed 3-4 days ago. However, that was after I'd already experienced the error.
Logged

jamesleavers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Professional - reverse DNS test
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2008, 08:55:31 AM »

Something odd with the caching NS. I do a dig +trace on your IPv6 address and it works, but without the +trace it fails.
However using "host" + your IPv6 address works.
Right now the test uses dig output, so we're looking into the caching NS issue.

Hi,

Did you get any further with this in the end?

Thanks!
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: Professional - reverse DNS test
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2008, 12:03:13 PM »

Something odd with the caching NS. I do a dig +trace on your IPv6 address and it works, but without the +trace it fails.
However using "host" + your IPv6 address works.
Right now the test uses dig output, so we're looking into the caching NS issue.

Hi,

Did you get any further with this in the end?

Thanks!

Yes, please retest, the issue with the caching NS should be fixed now.
Logged

jamesleavers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Professional - reverse DNS test
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2008, 11:58:55 AM »

Yes, please retest, the issue with the caching NS should be fixed now.

Thanks - it worked!
Logged