Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work  (Read 2708 times)

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work
« on: September 23, 2014, 11:25:21 AM »

Hello

I had to reset(unplug and plug again) my router because internet had issues and now it won't work . I'm tunneling my wan address which is 192.168.16.1 so it is not a problem of changing ips. What do i have to do ? To delete the tunnel and create another ? Shouldn't it automatically connect after the internet came up  with the reset?


Thanks a lot

Shak

Update: Now it works . It took about 10-15 minutes for the tunnel to start working on it self . Is this normal ?
« Last Edit: September 23, 2014, 11:28:01 AM by shak85 »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2662
Re: After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2014, 12:08:44 PM »

Depends on your ISP...my first reaction was that your public IP changed on the reboot.
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2014, 11:32:41 PM »

Yes but i' m routing my wlan address 192.168.16.1 , so why does the change of public ip would affect this ?

Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1697
Re: After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2014, 01:14:02 AM »

Because the tunnel is to your public IP, not your NAT IP. If your public IP changes in any way, it breaks the tunnel unless you update HE to know about a new IP.
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2014, 03:32:45 AM »

Because the tunnel is to your public IP, not your NAT IP. If your public IP changes in any way, it breaks the tunnel unless you update HE to know about a new IP.

Thanks for the reply . So if the ip changes the tunnel needs to be re-created ? (delete tunnel and create it again?) ?

Any ideas why i regained ipv6 connectivity after 10-15 minutes without doing anything?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2662
Re: After reseting my router tunnel doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2014, 05:44:37 AM »

No, you don't need to delete the tunnel; there's an option on the tunnel page to change your IP address.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Logged

shak85

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 07:08:27 AM by shak85 »
Logged