Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Setting up a tunnell to a Google Compute Engine (GCE) instance  (Read 1825 times)

apollock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Setting up a tunnell to a Google Compute Engine (GCE) instance
« on: January 19, 2015, 07:46:04 PM »

Hi,

Is there any way to bypass the ICMP requirement? I'm trying to see if I can set up an IPv6 tunnel to my GCE instance, and I can't get past the inability to ping it.

"IP is not ICMP pingable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked. If you are blocking ICMP, please allow 66.220.2.74 through your firewall."
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: Setting up a tunnell to a Google Compute Engine (GCE) instance
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 09:01:24 PM »

Nope! Better edit that firewall, or beg with your ISP. Also when did GCE get IPv6 support?
Quote
All Compute Engine networks use the IPv4 protocol. Compute Engine currently does not support IPv6. However, Google is a major advocate of IPv6 and it is an important future direction.
Logged

evantkh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: Setting up a tunnell to a Google Compute Engine (GCE) instance
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2015, 04:28:41 AM »

Hi,

Is there any way to bypass the ICMP requirement? I'm trying to see if I can set up an IPv6 tunnel to my GCE instance, and I can't get past the inability to ping it.

"IP is not ICMP pingable. Please make sure ICMP is not blocked. If you are blocking ICMP, please allow 66.220.2.74 through your firewall."

For this issue, you should ask your Google which provides you IPv4 connectivity.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 04:47:02 AM by evantkh »
Logged