Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: IPv6 on DD-WRT  (Read 6826 times)

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
IPv6 on DD-WRT
« on: November 12, 2015, 03:14:07 PM »

So... between the older revision for the TP-Link WDR-4300... and the newer revision of the DD-WRT firmware, which is now at build 25179...

The IPv6 configuration seems to have changed. I originally used this script for the original revision of the DD-WRT firmware here.

But now there's an entirely dedicated IPv6 screen much like TomatoUSB. It's found under Setup > IPv6 in DD-WRT.

Screenshot is as follows:



Is this about right? I do know I have a working IPv6 TomatoUSB configuration but obviously, TomatoUSB and DD-WRT are very different in terms of interface configuration.

Currently, IPv6 is working... but it seems some of my devices are unable to properly pick up an IPv6 IP that's globally visible from the outside. ie, http://ip6.me reveals 64.233.172.158. This is not our IP.

However, other sites such as http://whatismyip.com do show an IPv6 IP.

Either way though, I'd like to ensure that we have a working IPv6 connection on a consistent basis because I don't think I've got the right setup just yet... as evidenced by the occasional total stoppage of IPv6 flow, which is fixed by a reboot of the router.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2015, 10:27:31 AM by Keiro »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2015, 06:03:29 PM »

Picture didn't post...try again?
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2015, 10:23:20 PM »

Actually, it did. For some reason though, it's not displaying the picture. Maybe a restriction in the forums?

So I'll just link it here: http://imgur.com/cC2QQTb

The picture works if you right click and open it in a tab. But that's basically my setup.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2015, 10:27:04 AM by Keiro »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2015, 05:07:03 AM »

I think you have a typo.  I haven't used DDWRT in some time, but "Router IPv6 address" and "tunnel client ipv6 address" shouldn't be the same.  "Tunnel client IPv6 address" is looking for a range; this should be your router /64, not your tunnel /64
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2015, 08:58:02 AM »

I think you have a typo.  I haven't used DDWRT in some time, but "Router IPv6 address" and "tunnel client ipv6 address" shouldn't be the same.  "Tunnel client IPv6 address" is looking for a range; this should be your router /64, not your tunnel /64

Looks like you're right. I'm not sure what the correct details would be for this particular range, though. I'd been making guesses based on what worked originally in the older revisions prior to the dedicated IPv6 screen. Prior to that, the script that I linked to in the OP wroked perfectly for picking up IPv6 IPs.

So far, as mentioned in the OP, some of my devices are able to pick up IPs for IPv6, some aren't. They work but occasionally things just come to a complete stop. I'm guessing because of the tunnel client IPv6 and router IPv6 IP being the same... I don't know what the router IPv6 IP would be in this case, though.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2015, 09:28:42 AM »

Should be your routed /64 from your tunnel details page
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2015, 09:38:04 AM »

Should be your routed /64 from your tunnel details page

So... 2001:470:7c:37e::/64 then? Because that's listed as my routed /64. Which means I should probably list it as 2001:470:7c:37e::
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2015, 09:57:32 AM »

yep
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2015, 10:02:29 AM »

Thanks for the help.

I'll be writing a guide on this for others later on and providing sanitized screenshots... I'll replace the screenshot here with same sanitized screenshot later.

And the guide's been written, here!
« Last Edit: November 13, 2015, 10:36:24 AM by Keiro »
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2015, 10:56:07 AM »

Ah... looks like that's a no-go, Captain.

I just rebooted the router and now all devices are not picking up the router gateway. Thus, the flow of IPv6 has failed. Looks like the router IP is incorrect.

I re-added the IPv6 script on the DD-WRT Wiki that I linked in the OP... and now everything's working again.

Hmm. I shouldn't have to do that, though... however, I did notice an interesting detail:

If I check my Windows PC that I have lying around for testing purposes and games, I see that it's picked up the router gateway as fe80:6666:b3ff:fec6:f197%13.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2015, 11:02:14 AM »

That should be the link-local address of your router (the one that's doing RA)
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2015, 12:37:04 PM »

That should be the link-local address of your router (the one that's doing RA)

Ah, gotcha.

Hmm. Still wondering why it breaks IPv6 as soon as I remove the startup script... it shouldn't have had to lose connectivity totally on the IPv6 side... I can consistently reproduce this issue just by removing the startup script. As soon as I do, the IPv6 gateway that's picked up by Windows is totally lost.

This is annoying. Should I enable DHCP6s for DD-WRT to make this work?
Logged

JRMTL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2015, 05:00:12 PM »

ddwrt FW is currently in the v28000 range

in any event see http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=909299#909299 for config
Logged

Keiro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2015, 06:37:28 PM »

ddwrt FW is currently in the v28000 range

in any event see http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=909299#909299 for config

Hmm, you don't have the Router IPv6 field filled. Why? Also, your linked thread basically has more or less identical configuration to mine, aside from having to have the script in Commands > Startup just to make it all work. :|
Logged

JRMTL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 on DD-WRT
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2015, 09:11:48 PM »

Router ip for 6in4 is not used / needed. router will get ::0 on lan interface / bridge ex. br0.

Also you need to enable either radvd or use dnsmasq for your RAs. Note windows machines will not pickup ipv6 dns from RA. I prefer dnsmasq myself as it will also send ipv6 dns via dhcpv6 other info. There is no need for any scripts.

note radvd was broken for a number of versions.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2