Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: [solved] Can't call some sites with iPV6  (Read 27263 times)

sumehl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
[solved] Can't call some sites with iPV6
« on: June 29, 2018, 04:15:37 PM »

Hello,

i have the problem that some site like "forum.kde.org". Ping6 works on that, but not call the website. If i disable ipv6 it works. On my colleague, he get ipv6 directly from provider, not over an tunnel, there the website is working. So what can i do that the site works also with ipv6?

Thanks and best regards
« Last Edit: July 16, 2018, 02:13:53 PM by sumehl »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2662
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2018, 04:06:47 AM »

It sounds like you may have an mtu issue somewhere

What kind of internet connection do you have?
Logged

sumehl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2018, 03:02:44 PM »

Hello,

i have an normal wire connection from A1 here in Austria. Firewall and connection to the ipv6 tunnelbroker is an Fortigate.
Logged

sumehl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2018, 01:28:59 PM »

What can i do with the mtu size?
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2018, 06:57:00 PM »

The minimum MTU size for IPv6 is 1,280 bytes.  Try setting your MTU to that value and see if it works then.  If not, then the problem might not be your configuration.  I have also noted that sometimes there is a routing problem over IPv6 which isn't there via IPv4 - especially where the two paths are distinctly different.
Logged

sumehl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2018, 12:05:35 PM »

Thanks a lot for your reply. So I'am not an networkspecialist... where i enter the mtusize? In the Fortigate Firewall, or at the tunnelbrokerportal?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2662
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2018, 06:38:59 PM »

You can set it on the advanced settings page for your tunnel.
Logged

sumehl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't call some sites with iPV6
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2018, 02:13:26 PM »

Strange, it was on 1280, so i changed to default 1480 and now it is working well :)

Very Thanks for the help!
Logged