Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Can't ping server IPv6 Windows 10  (Read 754 times)

dusandjurovic3018ri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't ping server IPv6 Windows 10
« on: December 30, 2020, 07:46:20 AM »

I created IPv6 tunnel on HE and it gave me commands for cmd which I pasted.
These are commands that I got :

netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel localaddress=94.189.153.93 remoteaddress=216.66.84.46
netsh interface ipv6 add address interface=IP6Tunnel address=2001:470:1f14:1058::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route prefix=::/0 interface=IP6Tunnel nexthop=2001:470:1f14:1058::1

When I type ipconfig/all I get these lines :

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 01-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Then I pinged both client and server IPv6 that I got from HE and mine works  but server IPv6 address says "general failure".
I disabled firewall so everything can go through also I can't use protocol 41 which allows IPv6 packets in IPv4 so I created DMZ on router with my private IP address from device. DMZ should allow all packets through to selected IP address. And still I can't ping server IPv6 address.

Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
Re: Can't ping server IPv6 Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2020, 10:09:34 AM »

“Media disconnected” should be an important clue....  It should either follow the state of the real interface or always be up (connected).  Also, your local address may be wrong since you’re behind NAT.  Try your private address.  Your ping goes out, but your router is receiving it directly, not routing it back to your sender machine behind it.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2020, 10:15:34 AM by snarked »
Logged

dusandjurovic3018ri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't ping server IPv6 Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2020, 11:31:10 AM »

Thanks for answer,

So I changed my local address in private address using this command:
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel localaddress=192.168.0.19 remoteaddress=216.66.84.46

and this is what I got :

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel 2:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 01-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a4d7:38cc:d16d:ef46%41(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 687931392
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-25-EF-55-B5-C0-B8-83-9D-92-34
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:20::2
                                       89.216.1.40
                                       89.216.1.50
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

It created IP6Tunnel 2 and 1st tunnel that I created stayed same. On Tunnel 2 it doesn't show media state error. But I still can't ping server IPv6 address.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 786
Re: Can't ping server IPv6 Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2020, 09:16:21 AM »

Since the first tunnel is still there, check your routing table to see which tunnel the outbound ping is using. (Probably the first).  That would mean the second tunnel is being ignored.  Kill the first one.
Logged

tjeske

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
Re: Can't ping server IPv6 Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2021, 10:19:48 AM »

Maybe DMZ is not working as expected on your router? Often DMZ is actually just "exposed host", and also often it just means it'll forward TCP and UDP, but no other protocols (like 41). Can you hook up your PC directly to your internet connection and try again?
Logged