Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: 6to4 to HE not working  (Read 8523 times)

jgadmin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
6to4 to HE not working
« on: April 27, 2009, 03:15:22 PM »

I have a 6to4 router and one using HE's tunnelbroker service and they cannot talk to eachother, but both can talk to tunnelbroker.net

I think there may be a routing problem somewhere.

Code: (6to4 to HE) [Select]
C:\>tracert torchtech.judgementgaming.net
Tracing route to torchtech.judgementgaming.net [2001:470:c184:1::2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    78 ms     3 ms     3 ms  2002:44ab:10fa:1::1
  2    48 ms    53 ms    53 ms  2002:c058:6301::
  3    57 ms    47 ms    51 ms  v41.core1.nyc1.he.net [2001:470:0:51::1]
  4    52 ms    49 ms    69 ms  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.nyc4.he.net [2001:470:0:37::1]
  5    74 ms    73 ms    74 ms  10gigabitethernet1-2.core1.chi1.he.net [2001:470:0:4e::1]
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9  ^C
Code: (HE to 6to4) [Select]
$ traceroute6 2002:44ab:10fa:1::1
traceroute to 2002:44ab:10fa:1::1 (2002:44ab:10fa:1::1) from 2001:470:c184:1::2, 30 hops max, 16 byte packets
 1  mikrotik.judgementgaming.com (2001:470:c184:1::1)  1.227 ms  0.34 ms  0.221 ms
 2  jgadmin-1.tunnel.tserv9.chi1.ipv6.he.net (2001:470:1f10:6f2::1)  414.367 ms  405.042 ms  261.007 ms
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
^C

Code: (HE to tunnelbroker.net) [Select]
$ traceroute6 tunnelbroker.net
traceroute to tunnelbroker.net (2001:470:0:63::2) from 2001:470:c184:1::2, 30 hops max, 16 byte packets
 1  mikrotik.judgementgaming.com (2001:470:c184:1::1)  0.342 ms  0.232 ms  0.232 ms
 2  jgadmin-1.tunnel.tserv9.chi1.ipv6.he.net (2001:470:1f10:6f2::1)  232.544 ms  131.65 ms  167.504 ms
 3  gige-g3-4.core1.chi1.he.net (2001:470:0:6e::1)  96.097 ms  173.47 ms  232.688 ms
 4  10gigabitethernet3-2.core1.sjc2.he.net (2001:470:0:3c::1)  180.914 ms  226.137 ms  246.051 ms
 5  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.fmt1.he.net (2001:470:0:2f::1)  258.017 ms  239.821 ms  174.988 ms
 6  tunnelbroker.net (2001:470:0:63::2)  137.967 ms  122.113 ms  127.576 ms
Code: (6to4 to tunnelbroker.net) [Select]
C:\>tracert 2001:470:0:63::2

Tracing route to tunnelbroker.net [2001:470:0:63::2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    69 ms     3 ms     4 ms  2002:44ab:10fa:1::1
  2    47 ms    47 ms    46 ms  2002:c058:6301::
  3    58 ms    65 ms    66 ms  v41.core1.nyc1.he.net [2001:470:0:51::1]
  4    48 ms    49 ms    52 ms  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.nyc4.he.net [2001:470:0:37::1]
  5   117 ms   101 ms   103 ms  10gigabitethernet3-1.core1.sjc2.he.net [2001:470:0:33::1]
  6   109 ms   106 ms   109 ms  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.fmt1.he.net [2001:470:0:2f::1]
  7   104 ms   114 ms   106 ms  tunnelbroker.net [2001:470:0:63::2]

Trace complete.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: 6to4 to HE not working
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2009, 04:10:12 PM »

Seeing as this had nothing to do with the cert threads, I moved it here.

How is that 6to4 configured, a /48? a /64? Is there a machine running on 2002:44ab:10fa::/48 (or ::1/48) and then yuo are splitting out the specific /64 to your lan and acting as gateway?
Logged

jgadmin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: 6to4 to HE not working
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 04:47:36 PM »

Seeing as this had nothing to do with the cert threads, I moved it here.
OK, sorry about that

How is that 6to4 configured, a /48? a /64? Is there a machine running on 2002:44ab:10fa::/48 (or ::1/48) and then yuo are splitting out the specific /64 to your lan and acting as gateway?
I have a Router configured having 2002:44ab:10fa::1/64 (have also tested /48) on it and it hands out multiple /64s and acts as the main gateway.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: 6to4 to HE not working
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 03:15:53 PM »

What does a traceroute to 192.88.99.1 from either location show you for path. I'm not certain if it is someone else's relay causing issues or what.
Logged

jgadmin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: 6to4 to HE not working
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 03:43:23 PM »

Code: (6to4 to 192.88.99.1) [Select]
     ADDRESS                                    STATUS
   1   68.171.16.129 2ms 1ms 1ms
   2       10.11.1.5 3ms 4ms 4ms
   3     68.171.16.1 4ms 5ms 4ms
   4   216.84.103.81 8ms 12ms 8ms
   5   66.192.244.20 22ms 18ms 24ms
   6    72.52.92.101 43ms 43ms 42ms
   7     72.52.92.46 46ms 43ms 40ms
   8     192.88.99.1 43ms 44ms 44ms
Code: (HE to 192.88.99.1) [Select]
traceroute to 192.88.99.1 (192.88.99.1), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  192.168.250.10 (192.168.250.10)  0.394 ms  0.254 ms *
 2  mo-71-1-96-1.dhcp.embarqhsd.net (71.1.96.1)  404.230 ms *  405.304 ms
 3  mo-69-68-111-113.sta.embarqhsd.net (69.68.111.113)  521.784 ms  522.219 ms  522.420 ms
 4  sl-gw9-kc-0-0.sprintlink.net (144.223.129.189)  431.496 ms  433.387 ms  433.575 ms
 5  sl-crs2-kc-0-12-1-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.3.218)  436.494 ms  436.688 ms  437.129 ms
 6  sl-crs2-fw-0-4-0-1.sprintlink.net (144.232.19.140)  453.376 ms 144.232.8.63 (144.232.8.63)  549.710 ms sl-crs2-fw-0-4-0-1.sprintlink.net (144.232.19.140)  551.797 ms
 7  sl-bb1v6-fw-4-0-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.8.254)  301.643 ms * *
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1705
Re: 6to4 to HE not working
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 04:14:23 PM »

Ok so Sprintlink doesn't seem to complete the trace, but your machine actually using 6to4 does?

Also what is up with that crazy latency on your sprintlink trace, does it really start off that bad at 400ms?

Even traced to that first 400ms hop in your trace, and it isn't that bad from the tunnel-server, so no idea where your machine using the tunnel is going for the well-known 6to4 anycast:

Code: [Select]
traceroute to 71.1.96.1 (71.1.96.1), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
 1  gige-g3-4.core1.chi1.he.net (209.51.181.1)  7.239 ms  0.227 ms  0.137 ms
 2  GigabitEthernet3-23.ar2.CHI2.gblx.net (64.208.205.41)  31.198 ms  31.312 ms  50.249 ms
 3  te-3-3.car3.chicago1.level3.net (4.68.110.193)  23.526 ms  23.265 ms  23.277 ms
 4  ae-32-54.ebr2.Chicago1.Level3.net (4.68.101.126)  23.716 ms  25.310 ms  36.090 ms
 5  ae-4-4.car2.StLouis1.Level3.net (4.69.132.189)  28.942 ms  29.418 ms  29.146 ms
 6  EMBARQ-MANA.car2.StLouis1.Level3.net (4.53.162.30)  54.633 ms  54.748 ms  54.619 ms
 7  mo-71-1-96-1.dhcp.embarqhsd.net (71.1.96.1)  56.085 ms  56.220 ms  57.688 ms
« Last Edit: April 30, 2009, 05:43:03 PM by broquea »
Logged

jgadmin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: 6to4 to HE not working
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2009, 05:43:02 PM »

Ok so Sprintlink doesn't seem to complete the trace, but your machine actually using 6to4 does?
Yes

Also what is up with that crazy latency on your sprintlink trace, does it really start off that bad at 400ms?
yep, it really starts out that bad (sometimes I have around 100ms at best).
Logged